In The Spotlight ~ Author: Rene Gutteridge ~

Hopefully you all remember my book review of Heart of the Country which I posted last year? Well, as the first interview of the year, I thought it would be nice to learn more about Rene herself, co-author alongside John Ward. I’m not sure how many of you are aware, but there is also a movie of the book, starring Randy Wayne and Jana Kramer, to which I have the trailer below. (From the trailer and book, there are a few differences, but none overly major) Now please, sit back and enjoy learning more about Rene Gutteridge. Did you know she’s the author of The Ultimate Gift?? That’s one of my favourite movies!!

Rene is the author of seventeen novels, including her latest releases, HEART OF THE COUNTRY, ESCAPEMENT, POSSESSION and LISTEN, from Tyndale House Publishers. Her other suspense titles include, THE SPLITTING STORM, STORM GATHERING and STORM SURGE, plus her very first novel, GHOST WRITER (Bethany House PublisherRene Gutteridges). She is also known as a comedy writer. Her latest comedic novel is NEVER THE BRIDE (winner of the 2010 Carol Award for best women’s fiction), co-written with screenwriter Cheryl McKay (of The Ultimate Gift).Her other comedy titles from WaterBrook/Multnomah Publishers include The BOO SERIES: Boo, Boo Who, Boo Hiss, Boo Humbug and THE OCCUPATIONAL HAZARDS SERIES; (Scoop, Snitch, Skid). Another very popular comedy title is MY LIFE AS A DOORMAT, a Women of Faith selection for 2006, from Thomas Nelson. She has written one novelization, THE ULTIMATE GIFT, for Thomas Nelson.

She also has extensive experience writing comedy sketches, and worked for five years as the director of drama for a church. She has a degree specializing in Screenwriting, for which she earned the Excellence in Mass Communication Award, and graduated magna cum laude.

She is married to Sean, a musician and worship leader, and has two children. They reside in Oklahoma, where Rene writes full time and enjoys instructing in college classrooms and writers conferences.Misery Loves Company

1. The last book that made me cry was… Unbroken
2. The last book that made me laugh out loud was…The Fault in our Stars
3. I’m completely immersed in their storytelling, whenever I read a book by… Laura Hillenbrand
4. The first person who encouraged me to pursue my writing was… A college professor named Dr. Phelps.
5. I was inspired to co-write Heart of the Country with John Ward to…. Show the power of family and love and marriage.  And I thought the script was terrific when I read it.
6. I write stories because… It’s in me. It’s my love language. It’s how I speak up for those who can’t.
That’s the best reason I’ve heard yet!
7. If I wasn’t a writer, I would be… Probably an actor. Or be in law enforcement of some kind.
8. Heart of the Country’s spiritual theme is… the power of family and forgiveness. JUST 18 SUMMERS
9. The most recent movie or tv show I loved was… Why?  Oh goodness, there are so many I can hardly name them all!  Right now I’m watching Madam Secretary for the pure joy of watching the marvelous Tea Leoni bring this character to life.
*This looks like such a GOOD series!! The adds captivated me. Sadly though I haven’t been able to watch it apart from the first episode.
10. You may not know this about me, but I…Live in Moore, Oklahoma, where the F5 tornado hit last year.
11. I get lost in the music when I listen to… Movie soundtracks.
12. 5 interesting facts about myself are…. Five is a stretch for me…My characters are far more interesting than I am.
13. If I could visit any country, it would be… Australia
14. Are you currently working on any other books? I have a new novelization, Old Fashioned, coming out January 1st!…
Old FashionedFormer frat boy Clay Walsh has given up his reckless lifestyle and settled down to run an antique shop in a small Midwestern college town. Determined to put his partying ways behind him, Clay has become notorious for his lofty and outdated theories on love and romance. But when Amber Hewson, a free-spirited woman with a gypsy soul, rents the apartment above his shop, Clay can’t help being attracted to her spontaneous and passionate embrace of life.

New to the area, Amber finds herself surprisingly drawn to Clay and his noble ideas, but her own fears and deep wounds are difficult to overcome. Can they move beyond their differences and their pasts to attempt an “old-fashioned” courtship?

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......