In The Spotlight ~ Author: Melissa Jagears

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, let alone book reviews. However, this post is most certainly NOT about me. No, it’s about Melissa Jagears, the author of A Bride for Keeps, and newly released A Bride in Store…Melissa Jagears

Melissa Jagears is a stay-at-home mother on a tiny Kansas farm with a fixer-upper house. Her passion is to help Christian believers mature in their faith and judge rightly. Learn more at www.melissajagears.com

1. When I was a child, I wanted to be a …
Editor, but I didn’t want to live in the big city…too bad I didn’t predict the internet, I would have kept going that direction. ๐Ÿ™‚
Well, if you ask me, being an author is just as good!! Your stories are amazing!2. The message I want to convey through A Bride in Store is…..
I wanted to get across a lot of things! But mainly that nothing is certain, in light of that, how should we live?3. When times get tough, I look onto this Bible Verse for strength…

Unfortunately, I don’t have a Bible verse to hang my hat on, any time I face problems or disappointments, I roam through all the Scripture that I know, about who God is, how He relates to the world, what the Bible says about man and his relationship to the world, etc. I know that Christ came for the best reasons possible, led a perfect life, and still went through unimaginable hardships (Phil 2: 2-6) yet God was glorified because all things will in some way bring him glory (Prov 16:4) whether we can see it or not. So I try to look past myself, past whatever hope I want to give myself, and look to whatever hope there is to glorify God and ask for help to persevere (James 1:2-4).
4. Although I claim not to be romantic, I express this so well in my books because …
Hmmm, I think it’s because I’m an observer and an analyzer. I often realize what people want though everyone else seems to be oblivious, sometimes even they’re oblivious. I might not be able to meet the emotional need of that person myself, but I know what it is. So I guess for my characters, I succeed at getting them what they emotionally want in fulfilling way and that’s romantic? Maybe? I don’t know, can “analyzing” equal “romantic”?
Well, you certainly communicate emotions really well! It’s the highlight of your stories!!
11685 BrideInStore_CVR_mck.indd5. In my spare time, apart from reading, I like to …
Organize things in a futile hope that if I can organize something better, the kids can’t mess it up so badly, and then I’ll be saved hours of cleaning in the future…not sure that’s working out for me…
6. My favourite drink is …
Milk, I can drink a gallon by myself in like two days….I really need a cow.
Sounds just like my family. We go through at least 6L daily.7. I am a Christian because …
So many factors, mostly because God pursued me though I don’t merit it for He has some plan to use me. The earthly catalyst though was my grandparents insisting that anyone living under their roof went to church.
8. If I could go back to my childhood, I would change …

How I spent my money, I didn’t have much, but I would have saved more!

Haha – sounds just like my sister …. buys absolutely all the lollies she can get her hands on. She even bought ice-cream just for the bubble gum nose ๐Ÿ˜›

9. My first job was … I cleaned up my mother’s machine shop. She is a pattern maker (nothing to do with sewing, it’s a machinist-like position) and I’d clean the machine shop of all the grime and sawdust (and sometimes there was INCHES of dirt on the floor after only a week), I’d leave each Saturday coated in dirt, literally. Although I did learn a very important life lesson there. Lava soap, which is good for getting grimy hands clean and the only soap in those bathrooms, is NOT good for your face, not even if you have an unscheduled trip somewhere right after you clean the machine shop and don’t have time to go home and shower. Even if Lava soap is all you have available for washing your face, DON’T DO IT, YOU WILL REGRET IT, GO DIRTY!
Oh haha lol! But I guess it wasn’t very funny at the time! I’m not even going to ask what happened ๐Ÿ˜›10. If I could make a wish it would be …
That I could figure out the cure for Romans 7:15, because I certainly wish I could understand myself and stop it!11. The exciting thing I wish to share about A Bride in Store is …
I can finally tell people that IT’S OUT THERE to be read!
I know I can’t wait!

12. It was decided that I pose as the heroine onย  A Bride in Store ‘s front page …
Ha ha! I DO look like her don’t I? But she’s not me, I would have remembered that. How fun would it be to be the representative image of the heroine I wrote?….though I told my editor that Eliza isn’t exactly pretty, and then they basically put me on the cover…..I won’t read too much into that….
WHAT!! That can’t be possible! I even double checked with your profile picture to make sure that I wouldn’t miss-step – It’s a gorgeous cover!
13. You should buy and read A Bride in Store because …
My heroine, Eliza, would chastise me for not figuring out how to market my books in such a way that they fly off the shelves. So help me avoid a lecture by the imaginary character in my head and make my books fly! ๐Ÿ™‚

THANKS MELISSA!! I REALLY ENJOYED THIS AND KNOW THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO CAN’T WAIT TO READ A BRIDE IN STORE!!
7 thoughts on “In The Spotlight ~ Author: Melissa Jagears

  1. It’s fun to learn a bit more about Melissa. I think she must have a great sense of humor. I enjoy her books and look forward to reading A Bride for Keeps.

  2. I can’t wait to read this book! My sister was 5 or 6 when she cleaned our mother’s eye glasses with LAVA soap, another thing you should never do no matter how dirty they are.

    • Yeesh, Amanda, I bet that was a time she wanted to throttle her yet knowing it was a childish mistake you have to keep all that rage inside. LAVA soap is amazing stuff, but only when used appropriately! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I was wondering if they used Ms. Jagears for the cover model because I think they do look alike! I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought so ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats to her on the new release!

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

