It Had To Be You ~ Susan May Warren ~

susan may warren it had to be youThere’s just something magical about Susan May Warren’s writing! She makes you feel complete; whole. It had to be you delivered just that. But it more than delivered – I felt like I was living in the book, I felt like Eden. Warren writes just such life and vigor!!

Eden Christiansen never imagined her role as her younger brother Owen’s cheerleader would keep her on the sidelines of her own life. Sure, it feels good to be needed, but looking after the reckless NHL rookie leaves little time for Eden to focus on her own career. She dreamed of making a name for herself as a reporter, but is stuck writing obits—and starting to fear she doesn’t have the chops to land a major story. If only someone would step up to mentor Owen . . . but she knows better than to expect help from team veteran and bad-boy enforcer Jace Jacobsen.

 Jace has built his career on the infamous reputation of his aggressive behavior—on and off the ice. Now at a crossroads about his future in hockey, that reputation has him trapped. And the guilt-trip he’s getting from Eden Christiansen isn’t making things any easier. But when Owen’s carelessness leads to a career-threatening injury and Eden stumbles upon a story that could be her big break, she and Jace are thrown together . . . and begin to wonder if they belong on the same team after all.

Normally, when you read about celebrities you just find yourself immersed in a fairy-tale, leaving satisfied but empty because you know the likelihood of it happening to you. A day after I finished It had to be you, I was excited to go home and continue the series I was watching, however the more I thought about it, the more I realised that it was the book I was thinking about, not Suits :P. Needless to say I was upset.

Generally, thick books such as this tend to be filled with unnecessary information that slightly distracts from the plot; extra information that makes you lose concentration and interest. Believe me, I know all about that! So, when I find myself halfway through this book in less than 5 hours, I knew I was hooked. Actually, I knew this at the beginning, when I went on to read the second chapter; and 7 hours later when I finished the book – from front to back – on one night. I know, right! Crazy!!! I should be studying for my exams instead….

Characters are what make the book – just like hot guys determining the movie’s rating 😉 Warren executes this element with such ease!! What I love most was that each character felt sooooo human – the way they dealt with situations, the way they thought and the way they felt! This, of course, makes for a perfect romance story….. especially one involving a famous hockey player and just a ‘normal’ girl on the sidelines. But, she isn’t ‘normal’. In fact she’s far from it!! Jace has two sides – the one dictated by the media and the one created by God. I fell in love with his God side, a side Warren portrayed so well, it could only be natural. And Eden, her loving, optimistic charisma is certainly a charmer. Personally, I view her as my friend (just don’t tell anyone that I have an imaginary friend…) The romance – late nights, songs, family holiday – made the experience to be such a heart breaker!! And you probably all know that pretty boys kiss oh so amazingly, and Jace (of course) is no exception…

I believe having read this book in one evening demonstrates just how captivating It Had To Be You really is. All I can now do is urge you to pick it up and take the adventure….

3 thoughts on “It Had To Be You ~ Susan May Warren ~

  1. I just finished reading this too, and I’d have to agree. Loved it! Now I’m starting on When I Fall in Love and I’m already…well…falling in love. 🙂 I’m so excited for the future books in this series.

    • This seriesis definately a must read!! Oooo, how exciting!! I can’t wait to read it. There is just something ‘real’ about this family. Looking out for your review 🙂

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

