Elizabeth Yalian INTERVIEW ~ Black Coat With A Silver Lining ~

Now that you have all  read about Elizabeth’s book “Black Coat With A Silver Lining”, entered the giveaway (INTERNATIONAL) and had a look at the Scavenger Hunt, I think it’s about time that you learn and get to know Elizabeth, the author behind the inspirational book!!

~ Bio ~ Elizabeth Yalian
As a teenager, Elizabeth was overjoyed when she received a typewriter for Christmas, and conveyed her passion for words in the form of poems and short stories. As a mom, she loved telling her three young children tales of monarchs and princesses, palaces and fortresses, and ogres and villains.
Born on the tropical island of Cuba, Elizabeth came to the United States with her family at the age of ten as a political refugee. Her life experiences, with their distinctive challenges, saturate her words with depth. Most of the stories she writes on her blog, she has lived first hand. Her greatest desire is to show how God redeemed her, and transformed her life path of jagged stumbling blocks into graceful stepping stones. Elizabeth’s writing style stems from vulnerable places in her being, and is evident in her first fiction, Black Coat with a Silver Lining.

1. What inspired you to write Black Coat with a Silver Lining?
While taking a short-story fiction course, I chose to write a story of heartache and grief, and the redemption that can be found through a loving God. This story also raises awareness to the hopelessness some un-adopted foster kids feel when they age out of the system and end up homeless.

2. What is the significance of the title?
Just like the old cliché: every cloud has a silver lining referring to there usually being an unexpected upside to difficulty; the black coat Nick finds is silver-lined with an opportunity for him to find help and hope.Black Coat With A Silver Lining

3. How has this story impacted your life?
It has brought into focus what it means to be the hands and feet of Christ. Furthermore, we must be very careful how we judge others since there is often a tragic story behind every fragmented life.

4. What do you like to do in your spare time?
I enjoy listening to music or Christian radio, creating through some form of craft, gardening, writing, and reading.

5. If you could go on a holiday, where would you go?
Spain. Definitely. My family comes from Spain. I would love to visit.

6. What is your biggest passion in life?
To love God with all my heart, and to express that love and faith through my writing.

7. If you could change the world, what would you do?
I would find a way for every human being to fully understand just how much God loves them.

8. Would you rather:
Summer/Winter/Spring/Autumn The freshness of Spring and the coolness of Autumn.
Hot chocolate/Coffee/Mocha/Tea I am a lover of iced drinks, so pretty much anything iced including mocha. However, I do especially like iced yerba matte tea with coconut milk creamer and stevia.
Shopping/Reading/Hanging out with friends Sleeping Reading, shopping, hanging out with friends; they’re all good!
Horses/rabbits/snakes/cats I tend to go for cuddly animals like rabbits or cats, but at the moment enjoy my Yorkie-poo and my Peek-a-poo.
Sleeping/Gardening/Baking/Cooking Lots of gardening, then some R&R. Someone else can do the cooking for a change.
Red/Blue/Purple/Green No doubt about it: Blue, especially cobalt blue; most tropical islands’ coastal turquoise, and tranquil sea foam blue-green.
Beach/Mountains/Desert/City I like the murmuring and thunderous voices of the ocean’s commotion and crashing waves, though there is something very serene about the stillness of the mountains which happens to be where I live.

9. Do you have a favourite(s) author?
Jeanette Oak and Mary E. DeMuth. If so, what books are your favourite? As a young mom, I would squeeze any moment I could steal away from the three kids I homeschooled to read Love Comes Softly and other Jeanette Oak novels. I also love Mary DeMuth’s Defiance Texas Trilogy.

10. What is your favourite bible Verse?
This may seem like and odd one, but I believe it portrays life and the heart of God.

“Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But that is not what God desires; rather, he devises ways so that a banished person does not remain banished from him. 2nd Samuel 14:14 NIV

11. Where do you most like to read and write?
I love to read in my comfy chair in my living room where the light is perfect, and I can take quick glances at the country scene outside my window. I prefer to write at my office desk.

12. Getting your first book published must have had its challenges and I believe it was a long process in the making. What sort of hurdles did you have to overcome?
Other than the obvious revision, revision, revision and then worrying about what typos I missed; the hardest process was making the characters as realistic as possible. Speaking from a male’s perspective was also a challenge, but the toughest trial of all was correctly converting the format for CreateSpace and Kindle.

13. Did you always want to be a writer?
Pretty much. Even as a teenager I loved writing stories and poetry.

14. What is the one thing you enjoy most about writing?
Creating word pictures. I truly enjoy reaching out with words and connecting with people from all walks of life.

15. Any future writing in the works?
I am presently working on Whisked into Heaven: The True Story of God’s Supernatural Comfort for a Bereaved Mother

 

3 thoughts on “Elizabeth Yalian INTERVIEW ~ Black Coat With A Silver Lining ~

  1. Reblogged this on His Eye Is On This Sparrow and commented:
    Thank you so much booklovers1! I genuinely appreciate all the time and energy you have put into this week-long blog book tour. You are an amazing lady with a loving and generous spirit, and you have a pure heart for Jesus; something anyone can clearly experience when they visit your blog.

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

