Gunpowder Tea – Margaret Brownley

Gunpowder-Tea-BrownleyRATING: 4 Stars

I have been eagerly waiting to read this book! Ever since I read the reviews and saw the cover, I was hooked. Having read Dawn Comes Early first though, I had high expectations. Sadly though it took about ¾ of the book to get into it. However once I did, I am glad I hadn’t stop reading!!

“One of Miz Walker’s past heirs didn’t know how to ride nothin’ but sidesaddle. A steer sees you in one of those cockeyed saddles, he’s likely to ride his hide off.” “Don’t tell me you’re a Pinkerton detective too. … Next you’ll be telling me that my cattle are really sheep. And page 234 is a crack up!! “He’s a man. There’ll always be something to forgive”

I hope that you at least understand some of the humour! ^_^ What I love about it the most, is that it really brings out the character to who they really are. Even prickly old ‘Miz Walker’ has such a beautiful side (Just read the last chapter – it’s heart-warming!)

Once I got into the story, I loved the chemistry between Miranda and Taggart. Their humorous bantering, the tension – ohhh, it was just great!! Brownley couldn’t have done a better job.

What I find so intriguing about this series, is the connection between the first book and the last one. I would have never guessed that Kate’s book was actually so eye opening. It was rather funny, actually. This then leads onto the mystery. Brownley soooo cleaverly and delicately planted hints here and there, that when it was revealed I went “oh, of course!” That is what I love about a good mystery. And I can’t forget Aunt Bess and Lula-Belle. They are unforgettable!! Definitely make my day….

So, want to hear my recommendations?? Firstly, you HAVE to read Dawn Comes Early. I can guarantee that you’ll be laughing within the first two chapters. Then A Lady Like Sarah, followed by Gunpowder Tea.

In a case that could change her career, Miranda uncovers a love that will change her life. When Miranda Hunt sees the classified ad for an heiress to the legendary Last Chance Ranch, she knows assuming the identity of Annie Beckman is the perfect cover. As one of the finest agents for the Pinkerton Detective Agency, Miranda has been tasked with apprehending the Phantom–an elusive and notorious train robber thought to be hiding on the sprawling ranch. But she isn’t the only one at the ranch with something to hide. Wells Fargo detective Jeremy Taggart is working undercover as well. Their true identities may be a secret, but it is impossible for Jeremy and Miranda to hide the sparks flaring between them. Neither is about to let romance interfere with such a huge case. Besides, Miranda hasn’t removed Jeremy from her list of suspects yet. The closer they get to uncovering the identity of the Phantom, the more dangerous he gets–and no one on the ranch is safe. The longer Miranda and Jeremy spend working together, the harder it becomes to keep their feelings in check. Their careers–and their lives–depend on solving this case. Love will just have to wait. .”

 

2 thoughts on “Gunpowder Tea – Margaret Brownley

  1. Oh you’ve got me excited to read this one! I’ve read both A Lady like Sarah and Dawn Comes Early. They have become some of my favorite books. I can’t wait to read this one! Thanks for the review! 🙂

    • How great are the other books!!! My favourite one is Dawn Comes Early- I had to laugh sooo many times 😀 I hope you get to read this one as well. It’s nearly just as good!! Won’t disappoint.

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

