To Die Once – Miranda A. Uyeh (Book Review)

Now, for the moment you have all been waiting for…. the post about To Die Once. I hope I was building up the suspense because this book is really worth it!!!

To Die Once Ebook CoverTwo men, one woman, a rosebush …

… a terrible past, an uncertain future

Jennifer, a woman unexpectedly trapped in a path of love and passion against everything she believes. Rodrigo, a man set to get what he wants at the cost of what matters most. Stefano, a man with a past, a story to tell and passion to offer. Chidi, a friend in need, a friend indeed. Or not? From a culture where good girls follow the norm and live as they’ve been told, Jennifer is no different from any other girl until by happenstance, she meets and falls in love with Rodrigo, a man who’s handsome, rich and foreign. Different. She has no idea who he is or what he does, and is swept into a world of romance and passion. It is not long before she discovers a shocking truth that shakes both her world and his. Then he is gone. Stefano shows up at a time when Jennifer has made up her mind about the rules of life. He thinks she’s beautiful and is in love with her. In a bid to convince her to give him a chance in her life, old memories once buried are brought to life. And the events that follow don’t leave anyone unaffected by the truth of the past that was left unsettled. Meanwhile, Jennifer with her friend Chidi, find themselves on a self-discovery journey that has one of them raising questions. Some just have to ask, where is God in all this?

… an inspirational romance, from Lagos to Italy.

“A little mystery, a bit of intrigue, a lot of romance. To Die Once is a Christian romance with real characters facing deep issues. The emotional writing is truly heart-felt. This is Ms. Uyeh’s debut novel and thankfully, this won’t be the last.” —K. Victoria Chase, Bestselling author of From Across The Divide, Virginia Justice, Raphael: volume 1, Santiago Brothers book series.

“Miranda Uyeh has penned a novel full of heart. To Die Once is a story alternately thorny and tender that tackles the various forms of love – romance, friendship, and faith – in unique settings and situations. Often surprising, consistently intriguing, Uyeh’s debut is a bold start to her blossoming writing career.” — Amber Stokes, Author of “The Heart’s Spring” Series

“A fun inspirational romance read” — Rektok Ross, Best selling YA Romance author of Prodigal

My Thoughts ~ 5 STARS
Wow! Wow! Wow! I can’t believe this is Miranda’s first book! She writes as if she has been writing for years (which I am sure she has been!!). All I can hope is that my simple words make her story justice! Miranda’s talent is truly a gift from God!

Before I get into all my praise, I have to confess that I wasn’t really keen on the beginning. Jennifer, a strong Christian woman, falling for a non-Christian based on his physical appearance made me frustrated. I thought “Why would she do that?! Ignore all her good intuition for this man who kisses amazingly and looks super haTo Die Once Ebook Coverndsome?!” I was close to putting the book down because she didn’t even know him for who he was. All she looked forward to was the physical attraction. But, I thought to myself, I owe Miranda this much…. so I continued it. Have you ever started reading a book with a beginning that let down your expectations?  However you continue reading, hoping that it is going to get better, and fortunately, it does!? Well for me this was the book!!!!!!!

Although I say that the beginning was a little let down, it provided for the substance later on. It built character and gave us a glimpse of the hole Jenny has dug for herself. Without the beginning, the end wouldn’t be so beautiful and the symbolism so meaning full!!! To die once’ really reflects what happens in the book! Study the front page. Isn’t it so seductive?? Personally, I love it!! I think it reflects the book so beautifully. And the red roses – not only are they Miranda’s favourite 😉 , but they are basically tie the book together. You are probably thinking right now “When is she going to start her review and stop waffling?” And believe me, I completely understand! I am just so scared that I am going to say something that gives the whole story away!

Right from the beginning Jennifer and Rodrigo have chemistry! The passionate kisses and strokes and the affectionate glances made my spine tingle! Don’t worry – although it may have reflected the style of secular books (actually I have no real idea as the only secular romance book I have read is My Sister’s Keeper), nothing awkward is explained. I don’t know how she did it, but Miranda really mastered it!! Drama, drama, drama…. that is all that pretty much follows. Jennifer’s world is falling apart and she feels completely incompetent to change her fate. This is what I like about her character because she accurately represents the average woman these days who is surrounded with all these problems. Miranda really humanised her which is what I love about this book – the characters pretty much came to life, as if I was watching a movie… except this one lasted longer. (It really kept me distracted, btw, from my Uni studies) Because I really disliked her lustful need at the beginning, I rejoiced when Rodrigo left, thinking that Jenny could return to her old life, but no, things had gotten way out of her control! And then along comes Stefano…..

I hope this review made the book justice!! If not, I just hope that the posts will have you hooked! I know that for me all I had to do was read the blurb to be drawn in. Thank you Miranda for the amazing and honouring experience and pleasure of being able to read this book! Can’t wait for the next one!!

Stay tuned for the INTERNATIONAL GIVEAWAY!!! More info released tomorrow!!….

2 thoughts on “To Die Once – Miranda A. Uyeh (Book Review)

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

