Fatal Inheritance – Sandra Orchard

Fatal_Inheritance_smRATING: 5 Stars

Who knew that such a little book could hold such a great story? Not me. That is why Sandra really pleasantly surprised me with this book. It was jam packed with twists and the character development was great! In only 218 pages, Orchard had me hooked and I can safely say that this won’t be the last Love Inspired Suspense book I will read.

“YOU DON’T BELONG HERE.”
Someone wants to stop Becki Graw from claiming her inheritance. Police officer Joshua Rayne is just as determined to keep his beautiful neighbor safe. She may not be the tomboy Josh remembers, but she’s just as stubborn. Becki is intent on keeping her grandparents’ remote farmhouse-no matter the danger. Becki’s feelings for her childhood crush may be rekindled, but she’s seen too much to risk opening her heart. As the threats against Becki escalate, the list of suspects grows longer. Josh must convince Becki to trust him with her heart-and her life-before a madman ends their chance at happiness…permanently. Goodreads

This was such a sweet story! After reading Dee Henderson’s O’Malley series, I can’t honestly say that suspense still scares me and that really annoys me. But I can say that Fatal Inheritance intrigued me! Orchard had me guessing the whole time who the suspect was. Scenarios followed each other that the book just kept flowing.

I can believe that it must be super challenging to create well rounded characters in 218 pages. That is probably why I love this book so much. Yes, Josh and Becki grew up together, but they hadn’t seen each other since they were kids, a good base for romance, I say 😛 And romance was definitely there. They were attracted to each other from the beginning. I love the little nibbles Orchard revealed about their relationship, strengthening it and making it special. I couldn’t help but smile 🙂

I have always avoided these books (Love Inspired Historical/Suspense/Romance) because they were too short, thinking that they lack substance. But I was completely wrong! I fully underestimated them!! Now, I have searched the library databases for all books with a similar fashion. Orchard revealed to me that they make for a quick and satisfactory read. So go ahead – read this one…….

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

