In The Spotlight: Laurie Alice Eakes

It is my great pleasure to introduce you to Laurie Alice Eakes, author of The Midwives and The Daughters of Bainbridge House series. I have read The Midwives series and as you can tell by my reviews, I really enjoyed each book and hence recommend them, if you haven’t had the pleasure of reading it yet. But anyway, before I get onto the interview, here is a short bio of Laurie:

Bio ~ lae_3
“Eakes has a charming way of making her novels come to life without being over the top,” writes Romantic times of  bestselling, award-winning author Laurie Alice Eakes. Since she lay in bed as a child telling herself stories, she has fulfilled her dream of becoming a published author. To date, she has sixteen books in print with five more under contract for release over the next two years. Eight of her books have been published in large print editions, one as a Crossings Bookclub hardcover edition, and one book has been put into Braille.
A graduate of Asbury University with a degree in English and French, and Seton Hill University, with a masters degree in Writing Popular Fiction, she also writes articles in writers publications, teaches writing workshops, and gives inspirational talks.
She lives in Texas with her husband, dogs, and cats. She enjoys long walks, all too rare rainy days, and knitting—rather badly—while watching movies or listening to music.
Follow her on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LaurieAEakes
Read excerpts from her books at: http://www.lauriealiceeakes.com

Lady In The Mist - Laurie Alice Eakes1. What inspired you to write about the Midwives?
When I was studying history in grad school, I worked on a project on the history of midwives. What I discovered fascinated me, their role in society being more important than most other women’s, and I knew a story lay there somewhere. When I felt ready, I began to write it.
What intrigued you about their history?
They were so independent, educated, and respected. Obituaries and tombstone epitaphs about them tell us of how much the community respected them. They rarely died destitute, and people listened to them.

2. Out of all the characters in this series, which one did you enjoy writing about the most and which one was the most challenging?
For heroines, I most enjoyed Phoebe because she thought she was spiritually all right, but wasn’t. For heroes, Rafe because he was so damaged. And I’d have to say they were the most difficult to write. I ripped my heart out writing their story.

3. Where do you like to write?
I rather like my office. It has lots of books and tech equipment in it, and a big window on the third floor. But I also like working in coffeeshops. The activity helps refresh me, since I am so often solitary.

4.  Who is your favourite Christian author? Heart's Safe Passage - Laurie Alice Eakes
Since so many C?hristian authors are my friends, I would rather not say and risk hurting someone’s feelings.

5. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?
It’s a toss-up between Great Britain–England, Scotland, Wales–and Greece and Italy. Been to most other places I’ve wanted to go like France, Spain and Portugal.

6. Are you able to speak any other language besides English?
I used to be pretty fluent in French, as I studied there during college, but now I have to be aroumd it for it to come back to me. I understand a fair bit of Spanish after having lived on the Mexican border for several years.

7. Do you have a favourite bible verse?
Romans 8:37-39: No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers,  nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (ESV)

8. How do you like to spend your free time?
Going for long walks, reading, listening to music, hanging out with my husband and/or friends.

9. Do you have a favourite animal?A Flight of Fancy
Cats, but don’t tell my dog. I love him, too. I just like animals.

10. When do you write the best?
Early morning. The quiet and lack of interruptions suits me.

11. What is your favourite food?
MMM. Either something really downhome like potroast with potatoes
and carrots, or something more exotic like chicken pen’ang.

12. If you could meet any of your characters (in person) who would it be?
I think quite possibly Mia from The Professor’s Heart. We would have the most in common. But then, I like all my characters and would be happy to know any of them as real people.

13. What is your favourite time of the year?
Autumn. When I lived up north, I loved the changing leaves and frosty mornings, the hint of coming snow in the air and going back to school. Now that I live in Texas, I love the idea that the oppressive heat will soon be gone for a while.

14. Do you have any words of encouragement/inspiration to aspiring authors?
The best place to start your writing project is on your knees.

Thanks so much Laurie for doing this interview. I had lots of fun and I hope you did to 🙂

3 thoughts on “In The Spotlight: Laurie Alice Eakes

      • Oops! I googled “The Midwives PBS” and found out that actual name of the series is “Call the Midwives.” The setting is England in the 1950s. Wrong book, wrong series, but the subject of midwives is fascinating to me, partly because I am a retired nurse. Laurie’s book sounds interesting. Blessings.

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

