Choices Of The Heart – Laurie Alice Eakes

Choices of the HeartRATING:  4.5 Stars
From the Cover ~
Esther Cherrett comes from a proud line of midwives and was trained by her mother to take over the family calling. When a terrible scandal threatens all she holds dear, Esther flees, taking a position as a teacher in the wild western mountains of Virginia. But instead of the refuge she was seeking, Esther finds herself in the midst of a deadly family feud – and courted by two men on opposite sides of the conflict. All she wants is to run away again.

Yet could it be that her past holds the key to reconciliation – and love? In this gripping story of trust, deception and bittersweet loss, you’ll discover the true meaning of choices of the heart.

My Thoughts ~
From my past experiences, it has always been the case that the first book in a series is the best one. However in this case the books/stories only get better! With Eakes’ first book being as good as it was, just imagine the pressure she had to continue this line of success. She writes in such a fluid and smooth way, the story feels like it is nearly half way told in the first few chapters.

I have to admit something before I begin. I used to have this terrible habit of reading the last page and then the last chapter of the book before really beginning it. It’s not so bad now, however I always feel compelled to check how many pages and chapters the book contains. Now you can probably guess that I see a few too many words than I should. The blurb of Choices of the Heart caused me to commit both of these ‘crimes’ as it failed to give the name away of the man who would win her heart. C’mon, I wanted to make sure that I was going for the right guy J In a way I am glad I did this because it allowed me to differentiate between the two men – honourable and total prick.

Choices of the Heart. It is exactly this notion which annoyed me the most, both in a good and bad way. Right from the beginning I knew this was going to be a book that I would really enjoy. Since I knew which man would win her Esther’s heart, the times they were together were precious, especially because they were both attracted to each other and were stubborn in telling themselves that they weren’t good enough for each other. I’m sorry, but I think I am going to spoil it for you! So, be warned… Griff is the perfect gentleman. Not only is he muscly and rugged, but there is a real gentle, caring and affectionate side to him. No wonder Esther was attracted to him! The other man, the prick, was Zach. He does not know how to treat women, and the times Esther spent with him infuriated me because I simply couldn’t understand why she bothered to stay in his presence – choices of the heart, which were made only to protect herself from Griff’s charms.

That, however, didn’t stop Griff and Esther from having such intimate moments! Their stubbornness and strife allowed their relationship to be pursued in a realistic fashion. The books I’ve typically read have normally allowed the women to run away, not admitting their feelings. This of course meant that the men ran after them. In this case, they were indirectly running towards each other. Esther admitted that she couldn’t leave because she loved him, and vice versa. The kisses, well I won’t even go there. The ending was for me the best part because their love just radiated between them.

So if you thought the Lady in the Mist was good, believe me, it only gets better! So don’t hesitate, pick them all up. Are there any books that you nearly let slip by unread that you now highly recommend? I’d love to know so I can share that experience with you!!

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

