When The Heart Heals – Ann Shorey

When The Heart HealsRATING: 4 Stars
From the Cover ~
Courageous and unconventional, Rosemary Saxon served as a nurse during the Civil War, a service that has caused most women in town to regard her as unfeminine and downright vulgar. Although she would like to put her experiences as a nurse behind her, she must support herself. She takes a position with Dr. Elijah Stewart and a mutual attraction begins to develop. But when a sophisticated woman arrives in town claiming to be Elijah’s fiancée, a heartbroken Rosemary decides to leave Noble Springs and start fresh. Can Elijah convince her of the mystery woman’s deception before he loses her forever?
With tenderness and grace, Ann Shorey invites readers back to the town of Noble Springs, Missouri, for an engrossing story of love’s tentative first steps and fragile future in the face of opposition. Readers will find in Rosemary a sympathetic but strong woman determined to thrive in a world that doesn’t always understand.

My Thoughts ~
What a sweet novel! With a mixture of suspense, romance, compassion, good will, courage and the lesson of forgiveness, it makes for a very easy and pleasant read. With very vivid descriptions, I was transfixed into Shorey’s world…

What I liked about this book is that it challenged me to be more generous and compassionate to those who need help, despite my own circumstances. This is exactly the type of woman Rosemary is. I loved being able to ‘be her’ and have such a heart! Her herbal remedies qwerk proved to be a special attribute of hers that I love because it defined her character, making her seem more real and down to earth (don’t mind the pun :P)
Of course it didn’t help that she was in love with the handsome Dr. Elijah Stewart. Sparks definitely flew! Tempers raged! And laughter was exchanged. I can’t think of any couple better matched! Their attraction for each other stirred something in my heart.

That said however, I feel that there was just something missing, which I feel the book needed to give it the little extra edge. This is no criticism! Shorey’s talent and gift for storytelling was revealed through this complex story line. Rose struggles with forgiveness (both to her parents and the sheriff), finding enough income to support herself, the ‘scandal’ she supposedly committed, her kindred spirit, her double romance and the issue with her dog. I know, WOW!!! But Shorey mastered them all into one beautifully written story. Looking for a book so you can relax and forget about reality? Then this is the book for you!

“With mastery and grace, Ann Shorey’s gentle prose woos us back to a simpler time with a simply beautiful love story. Truly, When the Heart Heals is a sweet tonic for both the heart and the soul” Julie Lessman. That pretty much sums up the story. I definitely could not have said it better myself…

3 thoughts on “When The Heart Heals – Ann Shorey

  1. Sounds like my type of book, especially since it is a medical romance. I would love to read WHEN THE HEART HEALS. Always anxious to find a book by an author who’s works I’ve never read. Will add it to my wish list.

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

