Book Review: Love At Any Cost – Julie Lessman

Love At Any CostRATING: 4 Stars

Love at any cost. That is exactly what this book is about and more! Sacrifice, good will, secrets and charity. There are so many dimensions that bring out this meaning. Loving literature, I love discovering these little metaphorical links because it adds that little something extra to the story. That is exactly what I found in this book. And I loved it.

Jilted by a fortune hunter, cowgirl Cassidy McClare is a spunky Texas oil heiress without a fortune who would just as soon hogtie a man as look at him. Hoping a summer visit with her wealthy cousins in San Francisco will help her forget her heartache, Cassidy travels west. But no sooner is she settled in beautiful California than Jamie McKenna, a handsome pauper looking to marry well, captures her heart. When Jamie discovers the woman he loves is poorer than he is, Cassidy finds herself bucked by love a second time. Will Jamie discover that money can’t buy love after all? And can Cassidy ever learn to fully trust her heart to a man? Goodreads

What I loved was the chemistry between Jamie and Cassie, and how they both fuelled each other’s tempers. There is nothing more enjoyable to a book than that. I think I cut myself short of this book though, because I dragged it out. We had visitors over from Germany and so I only read when I couldn’t sleep at night or we happened to go ‘too early’ to bed. This meant only 1 chapter because I’d fall asleep either during or straight after. Despite this upset, it was clear that Cassie and Jamie are perfect for each other. What added to it is that Cassie is no ordinary elite woman trying to marry well. Although she has beautiful characteristic, she never shies away from being herself.  I loved it how she plays poker, pool and wears jeans, detesting to the traditional female role. It’s what I love about the whole family actually because they all seemed so care free. However as every family does, they each have their secrets. Just when I thought the book was going lacking excitement, Lessman throws a curveball right near the end of the story (am I just glad that I could read this nearly uninterrupted)!! Let me just say that things are not as they seem and once they are revealed, it all makes soooooooooooooo much sense!

I also liked the romance between Caitlyn and Logan because it added greater dimension and depth, allowing Cassie and Jamie’s romance to make more sense, especially regarding Cassie and her decision making. Her experiences and feelings were able to be passed on to Cassie, proving to be a great parallel. I loved how it was woven into the story, and it most definitely highlighted Love at any Cost.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Love At Any Cost – Julie Lessman

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

