Book Review: Trapped – Irene Hannon

Trapped Irene HanonRATING: 3.5 Stars
From the cover ~
When Laura Griffith’s sixteen-year-old sister disappears on a frigid February day, leaving only a brief note behind, Laura resolves to do whatever it takes to track down the runaway teen. That includes recruiting ATF agent turned private investigator James Devlin to help. Dev knows time is of the essence with runaways – just forty-eight hours can mean the difference between life recovery and ruin.
But the deeper he and Laura dig, the more Dev begins to suspect that something sinister is at work in the girl’s disappearance. And in the icy winter weather, the trail is going cold…

My Thoughts ~
Creepy doesn’t begin to cover the psychotic problems of the kidnapper/murderer. His determination to make amends for the one life he couldn’t save, the one life which meant the most ruled his life. He would do anything to save someone the trouble of going down the path they did. Right from the beginning I had a feeling he was ‘it’, and the more the book progressed, my suspicion was only confirmed. I also guessed what his ‘issue’ was, which made it even more creepy because I know and have heard of similar stories (if you have read  the book you will know what I am talking about, however for those of you who have yet to read it, I don’t want to spoil the book for you!! However once you read it, I have a sneaky suspicion that you will get the gist). I was repulsed at the sort of things he did and was able to get away with, even more so when Darcy was so close to escaping yet failed every time – I suppose that was bound to happen as it was in the middle of the book – yet one can only hope, right? So close and yet so far. That is exactly how it was. But that is also where it ended….

Suspense novels need mystery and I believe that it is necessary for the reader to think for themselves and come up with their own suspicions because that is what makes the read thrilling. Unfortunately, this book didn’t deliver that. Right from the get go, it is pretty much spelled out for you who the suspect is. So there goes my enjoyment and suspense in guessing that every guy I cross is the culprit. Another aspect I think necessary, is to keep the plans of the criminal a secret, however a little paragraph about their heightened plan is definitely acceptable because it really adds to the suspense!! This is why I LOVE Dee Henderson’s O’Malley Series as they had every aspect. Same goes to Hannon’s book Against All Odds. However I sadly can’t say the same for this book, which is a real shame as I have heard great things about this book, and some 5/5 ratings.

I suppose you are all waiting for me to comment on the romance. Well, it also wasn’t as good. It seemed like a convenient thing because it helped Laura through the ordeal, and vice versa for Dev as he was able to confront his ghosts of the past. However there was no real heart-warming tension and barriers. Both seemed to have a strong faith in the Lord and both got over their hurdles over a dinner conversation together. Yet it was clear that they liked each other and I found Dev’s determination to not submit to temptation really sweet. This meant, however, that they didn’t kiss.

I have to say though, that I wanted to know how the book was going to end, and how Darcy was going to be saved as it seemed almost impossible! And I like the way the Private Investigators worked together and really trusted each other. There was definitely character between all of them, especially Nikki whom I loved being introduced to. The book did end well, happy as predicted. But the aspect I don’t like is the uncertainty of Mark’s outcome – did he die in the house, or somehow walk out. This would make an interesting next book. The only thing which gave any hint that it might not be this way, was the suggestion of him being left in the house. Then again that is all which was said. I suppose I’ll have to read the next book to find out…

Now I know that my review actually sounds pretty discriminatory, which it unfortunately is. Am I disappointed – yes and no! The yes is pretty obvious, however the no gives credit to the clever storyline. I can’t remember reading a book from this angle, although it wasn’t discreet. Hannon definitely has a great imagination. However there are many other reviews out there that sing its high praise. I hope you stumble across them yourself and possibly read the book, allowing you to come up with your own conclusions. I’d love to know what they are….

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Trapped – Irene Hannon

  1. I’m sorry you were less than pleased with this book. I’ve always tried to be clear that I write suspense, not mystery–which allows me to reveal the villain early and take readers inside his/her head. For me, knowing what the villain is planning ratchets up the suspense–but I realize that’s not true for everyone. I do hope you’ll give book 3, Deceived, a try. It comes out in October. Thanks for reading Trapped and for offering your candid thoughts.

    • I know right! Glad to know that I wasn’t the only one 😀 I was afraid that my review is a little too critical, however I don’t really know how else I am to write it…. I was expecting big things from this book and am a little disappointed. Thanks for your comment though.

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

