Book Review: Rescue Team – Candace Calvert

Rescue TeamRATING: 4 Stars

From the Cover ~
Tired of running from her past, nurse Kate Callison intends to become Austin Grace Hospital’s permanent ER director and make Texas her home. Despite staff friction, she’s moving ahead. Then unthinkable tragedy wraps the ER in crime tape, bringing swarms of media, legal chaos–and a search-and-rescue hero who seems determined to meddle in her life. For Wes Tanner, nothing beats finding someone who’s lost; he’s known that helpless terror firsthand. So he’ll expand his team’s lifeline of hope: K9 tracking, swift water rescue, even horse-mounted searches. He’s ready for anything–except Austin Grace’s prickly and dismissive ER director. As Kate and Wes discover more about each other, new respect becomes something deeper. Kate wonders if her heart might have finally found a home. Then an unsolved missing person’s case–and a startling new one–become catalysts that threaten the loss of all she and Wes have found. Goodreads

My Thoughts ~
How can you resist a cover with such a handsome guy?? However I realized this only after I bought the book a few days ago, and then I got excited J, which supports the fact that I finished the book in two days (mind you I should be studying for exams :/ ). It is fair for me to say then, that this book was all about the romance. Right from the first moment Kate and Wes meet, their attraction was sizzling, despite their stubborn and predetermined opinions of each other. The intimacy and the kisses made their budding romance so incredibly tangible, I was hooked. Wes is a guy most girls would fall for! Not only does he have a lovely and caring personality, but he has a deep and wonderful relationship with his family, which is something Kate longs for. Their romance is something I really enjoyed reading.

Candace Calvert’s talent with words evokes such sympathy for Kate right from the beginning, and then when Wes comes into the picture, I couldn’t be more pleased that she is slowly opening her heart to trust him, despite her past. Although Kate was not liked by anyone else, apart from Lauren, her friend, I liked her from the beginning. Candace did a wonderful job discerning who was worthwhile liking and not, as they unknowingly got under your skin!!

I only needed to read the first couple chapters to know that this is a story worth reading. Wanting to be a nurse myself, I enjoyed the hospital setting and somewhat felt a connection with Kate. Picturing myself in her shoes is probably what made the story so memorable! I was so proud of the progress she made towards the end, making things right between her and her father, as well as her colleagues.  However be prepared for twists!!

If you haven’t read any of Calvert’s books (this being my first one), I strongly encourage it!! Her smooth and fluent writing skills unconsciously make their way into your imagination, making it impossible for you to put the book down!!! Knowing that Calvert used to be a nurse, gave me a deeper appreciation for everything.  Next book on my list: Disaster Status and Trauma Plan. Couldn’t decide between the two 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Rescue Team – Candace Calvert

    • It was my pleasure!! I can’t wait to read more of your books, especially your latest release 😀 I want to be a nurse my self, so I found your story really engaging…

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

