Book Review: A Texan’s Choice – Shelley Gray

Image 1RATING: 5 Stars

From the Cover ~
Texas, 1874. Long ago, Scout Proffitt gave up on ever being a man of honor like his Civil War hero brother Clayton. But when Scout steps foot on the rundown remnants of the Circle C ranch, he wonders if maybe—just maybe—the Lord has something different intended for him.

Rosemarie has lived most of her life doubting her worth and shouldering the blame for her brother’s death. But when a stranger rides onto her ranch, claiming he owns it, she suddenly is given a choice: either keep looking at the dark side of life . . . or dare to dream. Shelley Shepard Gray

 My Thoughts ~
I can’t believe that I nearly let this book slip through my fingers; and so casually might I just add too!! It is one of the best romance books I have read. If you thought A Texans’ Promise was good (review available under Book Reviews), this one is so much better! Although it is the last book in the series and I have only read the first one, it is able to be a standalone read. A few character connections might be confusing, however storyline wise, none are connected.  Nonetheless it is one I really encourage romance lovers to read!!! Don’t miss out and regret it later when you discover how captivating it is!
The romance was one of the best! Scout, despite his reputation is one of the sweetest and honourable men I’ve met. He knows his morals and will defend anything and anyone dear to his heart. Underneath all the toughness and chilling demeanour is a tender man at heart!

Enter Rosemarie Cousins, a woman who will have you weeping for sympathy the first time you meet her. No-one deserves to be treated the way she is, especially by her family! Although the community later finally feels free to befriend her, I still hold them in a negative light, close to disgust, as they did nothing to make her feel loved and appreciated. Except Scout.

This is where Scout comes in. Shelley did an amazing job developing the romance! What held me captivated was Scout, and his charming and handsome ways! (I hope I meet someone like him one day 🙂 ) I loved how he cared for Rosemarie. The only objection I have is her naivety, and shyness, however it is very understandable that she doesn’t want Scout in any danger for she has begun to feel cherished and loved for the first time in her life. To me, she still seemed like a girl, however whenever Scout was in the picture, that all left my mind.
It is a heart-warming story on all levels! There was definitely adventure, however only fleetingly. I also loved hearing about Clayton and Vanessa, the antagonists in the first book A Texan’s Promise. Make sure to pick up this book. I know you won’t be disappointed.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Texan’s Choice – Shelley Gray

    • Oh really! Thanks for the heads up about the second book because I was looking at reading it for quite some time. But yes, A Texan’s Choice will end the series perfectly for you. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

