In The Spotlight: Author Rose Dee

Rose Dee is one of my newely founded Australian authors. I have had the privilage of reviewing her latest book A New Resolution (review out tomorrow) and it was good. Highly recommended, especially for you romance readers. So, want to learn more about her? Make sure to also visit her webiste: http://rosedee.com/

Biography ~ 24e68-photo-23252812529
Rose Dee was born in Ingham, North Queensland, Australia. Her childhood experiences growing up in a small beach community would later provide inspiration for her first novel. Rose, who holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree, decided to try her hand at writing two years ago. The result of that attempt is her first novel, Back to Resolution. Her novels are inspired by the love of her coastal home and desire to produce exciting and contemporary stories of faith for women. Rose’s other releases include Beyond Resolution – the second book in the ‘Resolution’ series. And A New Resolution the final book in the series. Rose has also co-written a novel in conjunction with three other outstanding Australian Authors: The Greenfield Legacy. Rose resides in Mackay, North Queensland with her husband, young son, and mischievous pup, Noodle.

 

1. What made you want to write about the Resolution series?
When I first sat down to write, I didn’t know for sure that it would be turned into a book (‘Back to Resolution’), and that a 3 book series would eventuate. I just wanted to write something I would enjoy reading. The ocean, islands, and a young woman looking for life and love was just what I wanted to read.

2. More specifically, what inspired you to write A New Resolution?    1c75c-beyond
I had the idea for the main character ‘Anika’ when I was writing my second book, (Beyond Resolution), then the scene where she meets Nate on the beach popped into my head. It all worked really well from there. I had lots of ways to tie the story in with the established scene and character of the series. I wrote it really quickly.

3. How did you come about establishing your characters?
Most of them are like Anika, they pop into my head. I’ll have this mental picture of a person and from there my imagination takes over and gives them a life. Sometimes I’ll be writing and a character just jumps into the page. Amos did that. One day he was just there – meant to be.

 4. What are the biggest distractions in your day?
My day job. We have our own business, and all the tasks in my office come before my writing. At times I wish this wasn’t so, but I am also very proud of our business because my husband and I have built it together.

5. Where/When do you normally write and why does it work for you?
All over my house. I go from my bedroom, to the lounge room, to my outdoor area when I need to see the sky. I have this table on wheels that travels with me. Sometimes it works for me because I need to sit in a different chair, (I suffer from scoliosis which gives me a lot of pain at times), but other times I just like the change of scenery. I have found that a different perspective can inspire a twist or turn in a storyline. I write whenever I can get the time, although spare time can be very hard to find for me.

6. What is the worst kind of distraction you can have whilst writing? beyond resolution
The telephone. It can really break the flow.

7. Are there any characters of yours that you would really like to meet?
I think Dutch (owner of Resolution Island), is one I would love to meet, as well as Amos. I can imagine both those characters would have some storytelling all of their own – they wouldn’t even need me to do it for them.

8. What is your favourite holiday destination?
North Queensland, and basically any destination in Australia. We have an incredible country. I would also love to go back to the USA. I have only visited once and loved it.

9. What is your favourite book?
Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte. I also have every version of dramatic adaption of this book; every movie and miniseries. Love that story.

10. Do you have a favourite food, pet and animal?
Food – Cheese, salami, bread – I’ll always go for a savoury before a sweet. I do love my sweets as well, though.
Pet/Animal: Noodle the dog, (otherwise known as my ‘canine son). He’s been my constant companion through the writing of every one of my books.

11. Are you currently working on your next book? If so, is there anything you can tell us about it?
I am working on something. It’s in early stages as a manuscript, but completely finished in my head. I hope to be sharing it with you soon. It’s in a similar style to my ‘Resolution’ stories, but I am always reluctant to reveal too much, because my stories tend to get a whole life of their own as I am writing them. What I end up with could be a bit different to what I currently have in my mind. It’s always better though.

Thanks Rose for answering these questions 🙂 I had lots of fun….
One thought on “In The Spotlight: Author Rose Dee

  1. Thank you so much for sending through this interview and hosting me on your blog. I had a heap of fun answering too. Some questions really made me think – like #7 (Are there any characters of yours that you would really like to meet?).

    They were great questions.

    xo

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

