A Noble Groom – Jody Hedlund

a-noble-groomRATING: 5 Stars

From the Cover ~
Recently widowed Annalisa Werner has the feeling her husband was murdered but can’t prove it. Alone with her young daughter in 1881 Michigan, she has six months left to finish raising the money needed to pay back the land contract her husband purchased, and the land is difficult to toil by herself. She needs a husband. With unmarried men scarce, her father sends a letter to his brother in the Old Country, asking him to find Annalisa a groom.
For nobleman Carl von Reichert, the blade of the guillotine is his fate. He’s been accused and convicted of a serious crime he didn’t commit, and his only escape is to flee to a small German community in Michigan where he’ll be safe. He secures a job on Annalisa’s farm but bumbles through learning about farming and manual labor.
Annalisa senses that Karl is harbouring a secret about his past, yet she finds herself drawn to him anyway. He’s gentle, kind, and romantic–unlike any of the men she’s ever known. He begins to restore her faith in the ability to love–but her true groom is still on his way. And time is running out on them all.  Goodreads

My Thoughts~
This book definitely has it all- the chemistry, highly likeable characters, and the problems!!! Ever since reading A Doctor’s Lady, Hedlund’s second book, Hedlund instantly became one of my favourite authors. I love the way she develops the chemistry, the intimacy of the relationship and the mesmerising attraction that would make any woman feel super special. Just those simple words of Hedlund’s are what make me love her writing!!

My favourite aspects would have to be the scenes with Carl. His carefree, charming, self-assured, humble and caring attitude won me over!! The tender nature in which he cared for Annalisa and her children really touched me, making me wish he were my husband (good thing I don’t have one yet 🙂 ). I loved the intimacy between these characters. Carl knew that he shouldn’t have Annalisa yet he desperately wants her. Annalisa doesn’t know if she should fall for him that quickly, scared of misjudging him like she did Hans. I really enjoyed these struggles because they made for really intimate moments, where their attraction was so tangible, allowing me to feel it to the bone! His attitude was the complete opposite of the men from the 1880s, who believed that women didn’t play any role but housewife, who automatically held no opinion. Having Carl around really brightened the mood as he valued women. His flirtatious nature was something Annalisa really needed to be healed from her previous nature. Anyone would fall for Carl. I don’t know about you, but reading all the books I have, I sometimes really wish I was every heroine I came across!!

The problems and twists in this story also really built the story line. The complications regarding Annalisa’s family, the typhoid epidemic, Ward and Carl’s secret were so well weaved together by Hedlund that they all seemed so natural. It also added a little suspense/mystery, which always heightens the mood.

Also, the personalised pieces of Hedlund’s German heritage I found really cool. Only a few simple words were translated into German, which I found really fun.  For someone who can write like this after only having published a handful of books, really highlights the talent God has granted her with. What a blessing, not only for her, but also her readers 🙂 So I really recommend checking out her books if you haven’t yet, especially if you are into romance. They are really worth it!!!

Read any of her books? Tell me what you think – I’d love to know!!!

15 thoughts on “A Noble Groom – Jody Hedlund

  1. I love Jody Hedlund!! She is definitely in the top 5 of my favorite authors. I’ve loved each of her books, and I do believe they keep getting better and better!

  2. One of my very, very favorites! I have read A Noble Groom and Rebellious Heart. Haven’t read her others yet, but I do have all of them in ebook form.

  3. So far, I’ve read The Preacher’s Wife and A Noble Groom. I really liked them (especially A Noble Groom) so will hopefully be reading Jody’s other books when I can (so many good books, so little time!).

    • I know exactly what you mean! I have just finished year 12 and have borrowed nearly 20 books from the library. However during the day I still find myself doing other things than reading 😀
      I haven’t read The Preacher’s Wife, but I LOVED A Noble Groom. The Doctor’s Lady is also one of my favourites….

      • Thank you and I am so pleased that you are interested. I have sent you a formal invitation through wordpress. Please email me at the address in the invitation when you get it and accept it. Thank you again and God bless! Patricia aka Loopy

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

