Unending Devotion – Jody Hedlund

Unending Devotion CoverRATING: 4 Stars

From The Cover ~
Michigan, 1883
In Her Darkest Hours, Is He the Man She Needs?
Lily Young longs to find her lost sister or will die trying. Heedless of any danger, she searches logging camps and towns, posing as a photographer’s assistant. And then she arrives in Harrison, Michigan–and the sights of Connell McCormick.
Connell is determined to increase the fortune of his lumber-baron father and figures as long as he’s living an upright life, that’s what matters. But when Lily arrives in town she upends his world, forcing him to confront the truth that dangerous men have gained too much power while good men turn a blind eye.
Vexing but persuasive, Lily soon secures Connell’s help, drawing them ever closer to each other. Will standing for what’s right cost them both everything? Goodreads

My Thoughts ~
Unending Devotion. That is exactly what this book is about, on SO many levels. First, it is Lily, who is trying to rescue her sister and Frankie. Secondly, it is Oren (the photographer) to Lily. Oh, he made me laugh! and the way he watched over Lily was really heart-warming. Thirdly, it is Connell, who is always rescuing Lily.

So, what did I like about this book?? Well, where to begin. I will however say that although this was an amazing book with so much detail, I prefer The Doctor’s Lady and A Noble Groom, judging on romance. There are elements, though, that Unending Devotion contained, that the other two lacked. But all up, it was still a good novel! This can be explained by me reading it in between studying, and staying up late at night just to finish it. The suspense, the chemistry between Connell and Lily, mainly because of her feisty personality, which I always admire in female characters, and the plot line kept me going.

Straight from the get go, Connell and Lily’s romance budded off in the right way – the sarcasm, annoyance, the rescue, you name it, it was there. And oh, how funny it was!! However, I don’t know about you, but I personally like guys who are determined and do their own thing, not believe they are aligned to their families, especially when his farther is a bully. Sadly, though, I felt that was the case with Connell. But what I loved was reading the transformation happening in his life, and I suppose his muscles and gift with knives made up for it too! 🙂

The plot of the story was, although it isn’t something that alarmed me, highly engaging where Hedlund did an AMAZING job! The tension, the defeats, the rescues and the troubles. I do have to say though, that it wasn’t all predictable, minus the certainty that Connell and Lily end up together, no matter what, and another part of the ending. But telling you would mean I give away the ending – the best part! Also, about the ending – if I had to sum up the best part(s) of the romance, it would have to be the ending, as well as the beginning. Truly heart-breaking, nerve tingling and heart-warming!

There are so many characters who I can guarantee you will fall in love with. If I had to meet a character, I wouldn’t know where to begin because they each have a multitude of talents I truly admire. But picking one, it would have to be Connell (minus the glasses 🙂 ) and Oren. I know, I know, it was two, but I just couldn’t help myself.

2 thoughts on “Unending Devotion – Jody Hedlund

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

