Book Review: A Most Peculiar Circumstance – Jen Turano

A Most Peculiar CircumstanceRATING: 4.95 Stars

From the Cover ~
Miss Arabella Beckett has one driving passion: to help the downtrodden women of America. Naturally, she supports the women’s suffrage movement and eagerly attends rallies and lectures across the country. On her travels, she makes a simple offer of assistance to a young woman in need that goes sadly awry and lands both ladies in more trouble than they can manage. An independent sort, Arabella is loath to admit she needs help and certainly doesn’t need help from an arrogant, narrow-minded knight in shining armour.
Mr. Theodore Wilder, private investigator extraordinaire, is on a mission. A mission that began as a favour to his good friend Hamilton Beckett, but swiftly evolved into a merry chase across the country. By the time he finally tracks down Hamilton’s sister, Arabella, he is in a less than pleasant mood. When the lady turns out to have radical ideas and a fiercely independent streak, he soon finds himself at his wit’s end.
When they return home to New York, circumstances force their paths to continue to cross, but the most peculiar feelings growing between them certainly can’t be love. When the trouble Arabella had accidentally stirred up seems to have followed her to New York and threatens her very life, the unlikely couple must face the possibility that they might have landed in the most peculiar circumstance of all: love. Goodreads

                                                                           

My Thoughts ~  Jen Turano definitely has a sense of humour and it is SO cleverly weaved throughout this story, making it refreshing, entertaining and enchanting!!!! The opening chapter had me in fits of laughter, as Arabella talked to her-self as a means of comfort. Then of course, it all became even more exciting when Theodore entered the picture, causing Arabella to have met her match! Sparks went flying, but of course two stubborn souls only realise this as Arabella’s troubles catch up with her. It would be an understatement to say that this was the base for the sweet romance that transpired, however it was a shame that they only kissed at the end of the novel (sorry to have spoilt that one for you J ). Nonetheless, I still melted whenever Arabella and Theodore were near each other, bickering as usual, or believing that the other person isn’t watching them, causing them to gaze at each other. Their unconfessed love, to each other and themselves, whilst their actions betrayed their words, made it even more heart-warming.

Turano did an amazing job crafting this story, as I was amazed at the twists that transpired. One thing escalated to another, making it clear that she is indeed a gifted writer! And the humour – don’t even get me started on that one!! I LOVED it, maybe because it seemed like my kind of humour, however also because it was witty (especially from Arabella) and enchanting (coming from Theodore). Once I started to laugh, I was still going, over the same matter, two pages later! Turano continued to pleasantly surprise me with the development of Arabella, and I know that if I ever got the chance to meet her, I would, but it would probably be safest if Theodore was nearby 🙂 I fell in love with all the characters, and know you would as well!! If I had to pick a character I would LOVE to meat, well do I even have to tell you? – Theodore.

Having hosted Jen Turano on my blog, and having read Gentleman of Her Dreams, I was immediately drawn to this book. And when the opportunity arose to buy it whilst visiting the Christian Book shop, I knew I couldn’t let the moment pass! A story of meddling mothers, stubborn lovers, entertaining families and supportive friends, topped with humour and ‘peculiar’ circumstances, is a story that will appeal to me every time!! Happy Reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Most Peculiar Circumstance – Jen Turano

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

