In The Spotlight: Author Tracie Peterson

Most of you know, or at least have heard of Tracie Peterson. I definately have, as you could probably tell, and have had the privilege of reading The Broadmoor Legacy, my favourite series of hers! So, I thought it would be fun to inerview her, and have had a great experience doing so! I hope she encourages and inspires you as well 🙂

Biography Tracie_author_photo_bhp
Tracie is the best-selling author of over 98 books. She was the one time managing editor of Heartsong Presents, but now focuses on her own writing, and teaching at writer’s conferences and women’s retreats. She was given the Inspirational Career Achievement award from Romantic Times in 2008 and Lifetime Achievement award from American Christian Fiction Writers in 2010. Tracie’s passion includes helping new authors. Her writing is a ministry for her and her deepest desire is to help people fall more passionately in love with God.

1. My favourite series of yours has to be ‘The Broadmoor Legacy’, my favourite aspect being how it ends up being one big story, only divided into three sections. As it is co-written with Judith Miller, what inspired you to write the series? How did you go about developing the characters?
Judy and I both loved the 1,000 Island area and wanted to write a series of stories about them. We visited the area as well as Rochester, NY. We very much enjoyed the research we found and developed a series of stories based on those areas. As we deepened our research we were able to create characters that we knew could have fit the historical time period and area. TheBroadmoorLegacy3-in-1

2. Likewise, my second favourite series is ‘Striking a Match’. My favourite characters being Deborah and Christopher, mainly because they were just so perfect for each other 🙂 Are you able to tell us a little about how you went about writing it.
I got a flash of a scene that started this series. A young woman in her wedding gown, catching the train on her own to escape her wedding. I thought maybe this would be my main character Deborah, but it didn’t work out that way. As I developed Deborah I found she was intelligent, passionate, caring and fiercely loyal to family. Christopher was much the same and they seemed to fit together in their combined love of healing people. As I researched the area – again I was fascinated by the actual history. I had no previous knowledge of logging in Texas and company towns. That proved to be amazing. hearts aglow

3. Your ‘Song of Alaska’ series is also such a winner. I love how you crafted and combined each of the stories, where each one had such unique and talented gifts. What inspired you to write this series?
I love Alaska and thoroughly enjoy visiting and getting new story ideas. While up there researching, I fell in love with Sitka, AK. As I dug deep I found that they had the most amazing history and wanted to create a story that would show that. However, there were very few white women in Alaska and I needed to come up with a good reason for my non-native characters to be there. In thinking on that, I figured nothing would be as compelling as fighting for your life and the life of your unborn child.

4. If you were able to meet any of your characters, who would it be?
Oh, but I have met them. 🙂

5. Given the opportunity to live in one of your books, which would you choose?
Thope rekindledhat’s a hard one. I know those historical time periods weren’t easy. I think it would have been interesting to see Alaska in its rawest form, but also think Washington D.C. would have been just as interesting. Each place allows me a time of digging deep and living a bit of the times. I think I’m content with my own time period.

6. What do you enjoy the most about writing Christian fiction?
Sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ and Bible application for the reader. My writing is a ministry and my hope is that the books would cause people to fall more deeply in love with God.

7. What is your favourite holiday destination?
Probably Alaska although Montana is a wonder state to explore.

8. Other than english, can you speak any other language? Are there any that you wish to learn?
I speak some Spanish, but not fluently. Studied a little German before visiting Germany, but have probably forgotten more than I learned. 🙂

9. What is it that you like about non-fiction books, having written a few?
I joke about God dragging me kicking and screaming into writing non-fiction, but in reality the non-fiction books mnFPWk70a8Nln11lE9x7vCAwere simply my calling at the time. I wanted to share seeing God in everyday life and encouraging the reader to know God really cared about them.

10. You are given 1 million dollars. How would you spend it?
Interesting question. I’m not totally sure. I know I would want to help my family and friends in any need they had. I have an adopted family in Burundi Africa and my adopted son there is a pastor responsible for starting over 10 churches. I would definitely like to advance that cause.

11. 5 interesting facts about you are …..
1. I’m actually very introverted and private
2. I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was a very young child.
3. I love collie dogs and have had about 5 of them in my lifetime
4. I was born and raised in Kansas, but always felt that I belonged in the mountains
5. I’ve been married almost 34 years to my historic researcher husband JimSongofalaska

12. The cover of a story obviously plays an important role, depite what people say – “Don’t judge a book by its cover”. How do you go about designing yours? Do you have a favourite?
I don’t get a lot of save in developing my covers. The one cover I did have some say over was A LADY OF SECRET DEVOTION. I pictured my editor Sarah as my heroine and so I begged the publisher to let Sarah be the model for the cover. Eventually they did and flew me to where they were doing the photo shoot for the book. It was great fun to experience that.

13. What would be the best advice you can give for beginning authors? Get connected. Join a writer’s group, attend writer’s conferences. Always be willing to learn from others and make changes to improve your writing. This is an art and like any artist creation – you will have varying opinions and styles. However, there are somethings that are universal and attending writer’s events will help in those areas.

Make sure you hop on over to Tracie’s webiste, to uncover really cool and exciting extras!!!

Interested in buying and reading her books? Be sure to visit: Barnes & Noble   Amazon   Christianbook.com    Deeper Shopping

Enjoyed this interview? LOVE reading her books??? Then don’t let her GIVEAWAY of four books pass you by!!!!!

7 thoughts on “In The Spotlight: Author Tracie Peterson

  1. I enjoyed reading this interview with Tracie Peterson. I am working with an author who you might be interested in interviewing. His book, titled “SAVED: One Man’s Salvation Through Hurricane Katrina,” shares his story of how his experience in the storm made him believe in God. For more information, visit his webpage at http://www.savedproducer.org

  2. Hi, Tracie!

    SO enjoyed your interview!

    What an accomplishment – 98 books! How long does it normally take you to write a book – you must write several every year! I would love to read them all, & thank you for the opportunity to win a copy of one of them.

    I love the fact that your writing is a ministry, & your goal is for the reader to fall more in love with the Lord! The Lord is using you in a mighty way!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

  3. Fantastic interview! I love Tracie’s books. I haven’t read all of them, but they are all on my “TBR” list!! I love reading interview of Christian authors and you did a great job with the questions. And Tracie did a great job with the answers. I really loved her answer to your question about what character would she love to meet and her reply was she had met the all! I guess in writing books you do “meet” them, create them and watch them grow!
    Debbie

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

