Stranded Q&A (Dani Pettrey)

BHP_Stranded_Cover_Selections.indd
1. Tell me about Stranded. Where did you get your inspiration?
Stranded is the story of Darcy St. James and Gage McKenna. It opens when Darcy’sfriend goes missing from a cruise ship.
The inspiration came while I was vacationing on a Mediterranean cruise with my family
a couple summers ago. I enjoyed getting to talk with a few members of the crew each
day as we ate breakfast and learning about their life aboard the ship. Add in a few news
articles about people missing from cruise ships and my curiosity was piqued.

2. Stranded takes place primarily at sea. Were there any challenges writing a story set in one locale?
It was an interesting change from my last novel, Shattered, which took place in a number of states as well as British Columbia. I found it a challenge to keep the setting fresh and intriguing, as well as the pacing moving at a fast clip. I really enjoyed finding new ways to keep the tension high.

3. What is the underlying theme/message of Stranded, and why did you choose it?
I never start out with a theme in mind. I always wait to see what it is after the story is
written. In Stranded I would say the theme is hope: Hope that God can heal our hurts.
Hope that He will give us a future. Hope that He has our times in His hands.

4. Your website has a lot of fun “extras” for Submerged and Shattered. What do you
have planned for Stranded?

Character dossiers are already available for Gage and Darcy, as well as the Stranded story soundtrack— a compilation of the musical inspiration behind the book. I’ll also be revealing a Stranded Pinterest board, a book trailer, and a book club packet on my website. I love adding extras that help readers feel more a part of the McKennas’ world.

5. In Stranded, Gage McKenna leads kayak and camping excursions for the cruise ship passengers of the Bering. Have you ever been camping or kayaking?
Yes. My husband and I especially loved camping in the mountains of New Mexico when we were living in Albuquerque. There is something so special about being away from it all. It always makes me feel closer to God when I’m surrounded by His glorious creation.
I also really love kayaking. In fact, we just celebrated our daughter’s twentieth birthday
kayaking on the Chesapeake Bay.

6. What can we expect from you next?
Silenced, book four of the Alaskan Courage series, will be available in May 2014.

I hope you had fun learning a little more about Stranded, as well as Dani! I know I will be buying it when I am able 🙂
This interview is found on Dani’s website under books where there are COOL ‘extras’ that are really worth looking at, such as book trailers, excerpts, audio things and MANY MORE!! I know I enjoyed myself 🙂 Be sure to check it out!!

Thanks again Dani for letting me post this!

Missed Dani’s interview?

Shattered Q&A

Make sure to visit Dani’s website

Be sure to check out Dani’s GIVEAWAY of her latest novel Stranded!!!

3 thoughts on “Stranded Q&A (Dani Pettrey)

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

