In The Spotlight: Author Dani Pettrey

It has come sooner than I thought!!! Having read both Submerged and Shattered, Pettrey’s Alaskan Courage Series quickly became one that I Must Read And it hasn’t disappointed. I am really excited to read Stranded, and i hope the opportunity comes quickly 🙂 However I thought it would be fun to ask Dani a few questions so we can get to know her a little better. So, without further ado, here they are ….

Dani_Photoshoot42010 Bio ~
Dani Pettrey is a wife, home-schooling mom, and the author of the bestselling romantic suspense novels Submerged, Shattered, and Stranded. She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves–the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters’ faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in the D.C. metro area with their two teenage daughters. Learn more at http://www.danipettrey.com

Q. What inspired you to write the series?
It all started with a movie my family and I watched about cave diving. It got me thinking what type of person would pursue something so dangerous for a living. I find extreme adventure athletes fascinating and thought it would be a lot of fun to write a series about them. BHP_Stranded_Cover_Selections.indd

Q. They say not to judge a book by its cover, but many still do. (I confess that I am one of them) Can you tell us a little about the covers of Submerged, Shattered and Stranded.
I am extremely blessed to work with Bethany House’s amazing art department and design team. I was blown away the first time I saw Submerged’s cover. Each book in the series features a model that Bethany House did a photo shoot with, and each conveys a integral part of the story. Submerged’s cover exudes Bailey’s fear and shows Alaska’s gorgeous water and surrounding ruggedness. Shatteredhas Piper looking over her shoulder (knowing someone is close behind), and it conveys the wintery setting. Stranded has a cruise ship front and center which is where the bulk of the story takes place, and it shows Gage’s protective nature. I can’t say enough about the fabulous job Bethany House did on the covers.

Q. Having read Submerged and Shattered, I fell in love with the Alaska and the characters. Which book was the most fun to write, including the Stranded and the other two still to come?That’s such a hard question. I’ve enjoyed writing every one. I loved the historical thread in Submerged, the depth of love between Piper and Landon in Shattered, and watching the quips and sparks fly between Gage and Darcy in Stranded.

Q. If you could meet any character from your books, who would it be? Shattered
Oooh. That’s another tough question and to be honest I go back and forth on this. Right now I would say Piper McKenna. She’s fun, inquisitive, reminds me a lot of my daughter, and we have quite a bit in common—our love of moose for one.

Q. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
I love to travel and there are so many places I’d love to see. My husband and I are planning a twenty-fifth anniversary trip to Tuscany in a few years so right now that’s top of my list. Other places I’d love to see include Australia, Alaska and going on a photo safari in Africa.

Q. As a child, what was your dream aspiration, before becoming an author?
I wanted to be a lawyer. I thought it would be fascinating and highly exciting working cases—putting together pieces of a puzzle. And, of course, it didn’t hurt that I loved to argue. 😀
Q. Can you tell us something about your book that would make me run out and buy it?

Often others say it best so I’ll share two reviews:
“Pettrey succeeds again. Not only does each character come fully to life, readers won’t be able to put the book down as the stakes are raised higher and higher in a case that is much more sinister than it first appears.” -Booklist submerged

“The third book in Pettrey’s Alaskan Courage series ratchets up the action and suspense. It’s difficult to stop yourself from peeking ahead to the end, but the ride is worth the anxiety.” -Romantic Times 4-Star Review

I took French when I was younger and really enjoyed it. If I ever studied a language again, I’d most likely return to French. I also think it would be amazing to learn Hebrew and New Testament Greek.

Q. Who is your favourite Christian author? What books of theirs do you recommend?
Dee Henderson is my favorite author. I love all of Dee’s books and highly recommend her October release Unspoken.

Thanks so much Dani for answering these questions!!! I really enjoyed reading your answers, as well as asking you them 🙂

Be sure to check out the GIVEAWAY of Dani’s latest book Stranded!!

9 thoughts on “In The Spotlight: Author Dani Pettrey

  1. Such fun Q&A! It is nice getting to know Dani. Among the covers, they’re all so good! While I find submerged most captivating, I confess Shattered reaches out to me more.

    Dee Henderson? I’m so not surprised! She does rub off on Dani’s work, doesn’t she? Also a fan of hers and I’m looking forward to reading Unspoken as I’ve heard much of it from friends on goodreads.

    Had fun with this. Great work ladies!

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

