In The Spotlight: Author Jen Turano & Giveaway

Hi guys!! 🙂 I am super excited to share with you all about Jen Turano. After reading her novella Gentleman of her Dreams (read review) , I immediately fell in love with her characters (especially Charlotte) and very humerous writing style. So, I thought that it would be fun interviewing Jen. I have really been looking forward to posting this interview and am even more excited to inform you of a giveaway of an autographed copy of A Most Peculiar Circumstance or A Change of Fortune. To make sure you don’t miss out follow the link: Giveaway and make sure to COMMENT!!! I had heaps of fun coming up with the questions and reading her answers. So, here they are, the responses of a really talented author ……

Bio:IMG_1635-2A
Jen Turano, acclaimed author of A Change of Fortune, A Most Peculiar Circumstance, and A Talent for Trouble, is a graduate of the University of Akron with a degree in Clothing and Textiles. Her fourth book in the Ladies of Distinction Series, A Match of Wits, will release from Bethany House in the summer of 2014. She is a member of ACFW and makes her home outside of Denver, Colorado with her husband and teenage son. Visit her website at http://www.jenturano.com or Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/jenturanoauthor.

Interivew:
What inspired you to write your novella, Gentleman of Her Dreams?
Gentleman of Her Dreams actually came about due to a suggestion from my editor. I’d already finished A Change of Fortune and A Most Peculiar Circumstance, and since I had some time on my hands, my editor and I thought it would be a wonderful way to allow readers a glimpse of my writing style if I wrote a novella. We tossed some ideas around and decided we definitely wanted the story to include some of the characters from my series. Charlotte, the heroine, simply popped to mind and I went from there. I’d never written a novella before, and since I tend to be a little wordy, I was concerned I wouldn’t be able to write a complete story with the word count I’d been given. Much to my surprise, it turned into a delightful experience, one that I’m hoping to do again in the future.

15980300

The humor included was the highlight for me. How did you do it?I’ve always had a warped sense of humor, so it just comes out on the page. Plus, my favorite stories to read are those that amuse me and those stories have influenced my writing style.

Because it’s a short novel, I loved the way you established each of the characters. It must have been a challenge. What was the most challenging aspect to write about?
It was definitely difficult to create characters the reader could connect with in such a short amount of time, which is why I used so many action scenes. They allowed the reader to understand the characters quickly and because Charlotte was such a klutz, it built empathy for her character almost from the start.

Similarly, the romance blossomed really well. How did you do it?
I normally don’t write stories where the heroine and hero share a past and love each other but don’t admit it because of a misunderstanding. However, given that I only had so many words to work with (20,000 –a normal size novel runs between 80,000 – 100,000) this was the only storyline I could think of that would allow a romance to grow so quickly. They’d known each other forever – so I didn’t need to build up a relationship much – it was already there.

Out of all the books you’ve written, which one is your favorite?
Well, hmm…that’s a difficult one. I love A Change of Fortune because it was my first full-length novel to get published, but I’m currently editing book four – A Match of Wits – and I have to say, I really do like that book. But…A Most Peculiar Circumstance has Mr. Theodore Wilder in it – one of my favorite heroes – and then A Talent for Trouble – well, Miss Felicia Murdock was just a hoot to write – so….I have to honestly say I don’t really have a favorite. I love all of them at times, loathe them when I’m doing rewrites, then smile when I see them in print.9780764210181

You’ve clearly introduced avid readers to a great number of entertaining characters. Surely you must have a favorite? What is about that particular character you like?
Miss Agatha Watson certainly comes immediately to mind. She’s in all four books of the series, plus the novella and she’s always had a pretty big presence in each book. That means I know her inside and out and she’s just so feisty I can’t help but adore her. She’s independent, gets herself into trouble all the time, but has a heart of gold and has really been the lady who has maintained a strong level of faith throughout the series, no matter the circumstances she finds herself in.

Given the opportunity to co-write a novel with any author, who would you choose?
Oh, I would never do that to another author. I’m completely neurotic when I’m writing 🙂

Who is your favorite Christian author? What books would you recommend?
I have too many to list them all, but a few of my favorites are Karen Witemeyer, Jody Hedlund, Lisa Wingate, Anne Mateer, Julie Klassen, and a debut novelist who happens to be a friend of mine, Carla Laureano. She’s just released a lovely contemporary romance, Five Days in Skye. I would recommend any of the books from the above authors.

At the moment, I have this huge fascination with languages. Do you speak any other language besides English? Are there any languages you’d like to learn?I took quite a few years of French back in the day, but I have to admit, I’ve never had an ability to pick up languages. I managed to do okay in those French classes, but don’t remember anything, and…nope, can’t think of a single language I long to learn. My teenage son has been through four years of Chinese, and I have to tell you, the mere sight of his handwriting homework makes me incredibly glad I’m no longer in school.9780764210198

Where is your favorite holiday destination?
After getting stuck in the Chicago airport on Christmas Eve one year for twelve hours, I now prefer to stay here in Denver, Colorado for the Christmas holidays. Summer I enjoy going to the beach on either coast and I absolutely love New York City.

Where do you love to write?
I spend most of my time writing in my office. I don’t like using my laptop but prefer my computer. That way I’m anchored to my desk and can’t get distracted. Proof-reading though is done outside in a cozy chair, well, at least when the weather’s nice, and I have this really cool chaise in my office that I use when I’m reading galleys and design pages.

Thank you so much for having me, Johanna. It’s been a pleasure. – Thankyou Jen, for taking the time to answer these questions!!! God Bless You!

*Now for the giveaway: to find out more information follow the link- A Most Peculiar Circumstance or A Change of Fortune*

3 thoughts on “In The Spotlight: Author Jen Turano & Giveaway

  1. Excellent interview! I loved all the questions and all the answers. I love getting to know authors on a personal level. I’ve only read Jen’s novella, Gentleman of Her Dreams (and loved it) and I’m now reading, A Most Peculiar Circumstance and I’m having a hard time putting it down (I just don’t understand why “readers” have to cook, clean, wash clothes and do the shopping…seems like we should have an assistant to handle all that so we can devote all our time on reading and writing reviews!) 🙂
    Debbie

    • Thanks 🙂 I really enjoyed it myself. I know exactly what you mean! It feels as if you have this special bond with the books and author themselves. Plus, it is a lot of fun. I have just finished reading A Most Peculiar Circumstance and LOVED it!! The humour made me feel right at home. I couldn’t stop laughing once I got started 😀
      Wouldn’t life be grand if all we could do is read and review!! Ideal lifestyle right there 🙂

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

