Full Disclosure – Dee Henderson

sljlfjdnsjfnsdknfkjsja.fn RATING: 4.5 Stars

From the Cover ~
Ann Silver is a cap’s cop. As the Midwest Homicide Investigator, she is called to help local law enforcements on the worst of cases, looking for answers to murder. Hers is one of the region’s most trusted investigative positions.
Paul Falcon is the FBI’s top murder cop in the Midwest. If the victim carried a federal badge or had a security clearance, odds are good Paul and his team see the case file or work the murder.

Their lives intersect when Ann arrives to pass a case off her desk and onto his, A car wreck and a suspicious death offer lead on a hired shooter he is tracking. Paul isn’t expecting to meet someone, the kind that goes on the personal side of the ledger, but Ann Silver has his attention.
The better he gets to know her, the more Paul realizes her job barely scratches the surface of who she is. She knows spies, and soldiers and U.S Marshals, and has written books about them. She is friends with the former vice president. People with good reason to be cautious about who they let into their lives deeply trust her. Paul wonders just what secrets Ann is keeping, until she shows him the John Doe Killer case file, and he starts to realize just who this lady he is falling in love with really is….

My Thoughts ~
Wow! I can definitely say ‘Welcome back Dee’!!! I was engaged after reading the first few pages and every time I went to put it down, my thoughts were constantly on the book. What is going to happen? Who is guilty- is it some insider? Entwined within this book are about three storylines and I love it how Dee connected them all together. In my opinion, it takes a lot of skill.

The only negative aspect I have to say about the whole book, is that I thought it lacked the suspense her other novels contained. I am mainly talking about her O’Malley series, where each book was filled with nail bitting suspense, and I began reading this book hoping that it would have the same outcome. It took me about half way through the novel to realise that it just wasn’t going to happen. So instead I would call this a mystery, rather than suspense. Also, the first good chunk of the beginning seemed to drag on a little, but as I finished the book I really appreciated the detail Henderson gave because it allowed me to understand each of the characters intimately. Other than these two minor points, this book was a complete winner!! Just thought I would get the negativity out of the way to focus more on the good stuff….

As you probably have all realised, I love a good romance novel, and Dee Henderson is an author I know will always deliver! And this novel definitely does not disappoint. I was excited to see the development of Paul and Ann’s relationship and especially love the ending, which was probably my highlight of the whole story. The intimacy, the chemistry, and the care Paul took regarding Ann gave me hope that there are still those gentlemen out there, somewhere 

Yet there is more the story than the romance. The reason why I would label Full Disclosure a mystery is because the main plot is focused around a lady shooter, and her capture. None of the characters were being stalked, abducted or broken into, like her O’Malley series. This isn’t to say that the novel wasn’t as exciting, because it was, but for different reasons. I really enjoyed racking my brain into trying to solve the mystery and predicting what was about to happen. I always assumed for the worst, which made the read even more exciting and nothing is able to go past Henderson, so they seemed completely plausible. I suppose you could say I was helping the investigation along, in some respect.
Then came all the sub plots, and the mystery they contained, which I wasn’t really expecting. (That’s a good thing ) It took the journey in all sorts of directions, demonstrating that people are not always who they say they are. Yet all connections are reasonable!

I have read quite a few reviews that say the read was a little confusing. Initially flicking through the book I completely understood why, as the story was divided up into different parts, so I started to get slightly concerned. However I found to really like them! They helped the story progress really well and were not confusing. Narrative voice didn’t change and I found it to be just alike all other books.

I love it how Dee personalised the story. Not only did it contain some of the O’Malley’s and other characters from her other books (which I really enjoyed!!), but I could see Dee in the story. I am not going to tell you how for it is quite easy to figure out once a few chapters are read and would ruin the plot. So I am hoping that you will pick up this book. If you have read the other O’Malley books, don’t compare them to this one, because you may be slightly surprised or disappointed. However that said, it is completely enjoyable, as evident in my rating of 4.5 stars out of 5. So check it out and tell me what you think!!!

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

