Book Review: Trust Me Twice by Alison Stanley

TrustMeTwice12 RATING: 4.5 Stars
Firstly I just wish to say THANKYOU to Alison for sending me a free e-book copy. I was completely honored by your generosity! I hope my review is evident of that 🙂

Blurb ~
From the day they were born, Alana and Zac were best friends, until an incident on a school camp causes Alana to push Zac away. Ten years later, Alana returns to her home town of Oakley and runs into Zac again. He is now a famous TV star and super-cute, but can she forgive him for hurting her all those years ago? While stranded alone with him in the middle of a natural disaster, she is forced to decide whether she will open her heart and trust him again.

My Thoughts ~
What a short and sweet novel!! It is so evident that Alison had fun writing Trust Me Twice as I had so much fun reading it. It is fast paced, has charming characters and communicates the wonderful lesson of trust, not only in others, but in God’s perfect timing. There are just so many things I like about this book…

Firstly, it is that Alison did a great job engaging readers emotionally. After reading the first chapter, I knew this story was going to be a keeper. Reading Alana’s heart ache over Zac at such a young age, I couldn’t help but feel her pain, especially after reading how it has caused her to keep a distance from people to prevent her from being hurt again. However this just made her moments with Zac even more electrifying! I loved the chemistry between the two and how well they complemented each other. (The kisses were just oh so perfect) I love Zac, his character as well as his celebrity because, let’s be honest, every girl at least once in their life dreams of marrying a celebrity (a good looking one at that). This is exactly what Zac is. I suppose his added charm is that he is a Christian, which is a rarity for someone of his status, somewhat fulfilling this dream. It is what attracted me to the story anyway 🙂 Alana is someone every heart-broken girl is able to relate with, making it a whole lot easier to step in and take her place. (I know, I’m a hopeless romantic) Although this is a very short story, I have to compliment Alison on the wonderful job in orchestrating this contemporary fairy tale. I really felt like Cinderella reading it, especially the ending!!

Secondly, it’s the setting I love how it is set in Australia, the Gold Coast, and Sydney. Although I have never been to those places myself, I could very easily relate as I too live in Australia. My recent discovery of really amazingly talented Australian authors is just getting better.
Thirdly, I love the pace of this novel! I have come across really thick books that have just dragged on a little too long. However regarding this book, although it is about 55 pages, I would say that it is very appropriate. In the beginning I was a little unsure of its pace, however once I got to the second chapter I was engaged and found the story flowed beautifully. I couldn’t put it down!

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

