In The Spotlight: Author Alison Stanley

AlisonStanley Having read her latest novel Trust Me Twice (review comes out tomorrow), Alison Stanley quickly became a Christian author I know I’ll be looking out for! So, I thought I would interview her to get to know her better and introduce her to you. I had a lot of fun asking and reading the answer to these qestions, so I hope you will find it equally enjoying reading it….

Bio:
Alison Stanley is a working mum, living in the West of Sydney, Australia, with her husband and two young daughters. In her spare time, Alison writes and self-publishes inspirational romance books for adults and teens. She released her first novel, ‘Second Chances’, in 2012, and her second book, ‘Trust Me Twice’, in Feb 2013. She is now working on her third and fourth book.

Alison’s passion for writing has grown out of a love for reading. She enjoys a wide range of authors, both Christian and secular. She also enjoys playing music, exploring new holiday destinations, planning home renovation projects (and sometimes attempting them), and viewing the world through the eyes of her children.

To find out more about Alison’s books, visit her website alisonstanleychristianfiction.wordpress.com, or say hi on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/AlisonStanleyChristianFiction) or Twitter (@alisonwrites)

Interview:
1. What inspired you to write Trust me Twice?
It is hard to pin-point this exactly. After writing my first book, Second Chances, I knew I wanted to base another story in the town of Oakley. Alana was a minor character in my first book (Hannah’s older sister) and I was curious to find out her story. She seemed kind of mysterious to me, and as I wrote, I got to see her story unfold.

2. I love the depth of your biblical message of trusting God and relying on his perfect timing. What part did that play in writing this novel?
As a Christian, I know that God has a plan for my life, but when things gets tough, it is easy to feel lost or like God doesn’t care. I have been encouraged in my life, seeing God at work through difficult circumstances, and I wanted to share that hope with others who feel overwhelmed in the situations they are facing.

3. What was the most exciting aspect of Trust Me Twice to write about? Which was the most challenging?
I enjoy a good love story, so the highlight for me was writing about the developing romance between Alana and Zac – some of the scenes came so naturally to me, it was almost as if I was an audience member rather than the writer. It was a fairly emotional book to write, and I shed a few tears as I wrote some of the scenes, recalling TrustMeTwice12 some of my own feelings of loss, disappointment and fear – this was probably the most challenging part of writing, but I feel the book is better for it.

4. If you could meet any of your own characters, who would it be? I feel like I got to know Alana and Zac pretty well in the pages of my book, but one character I only skimmed the surface with was Alana’s friend and ex-youth leader, Karen. I have been fortunate to have had a few mentors in my life like Karen, and I find her very inspiring – in fact, she is the main character of my next book in the Oakley series.

5. When and where do you like to write?
I usually write at night when the kids are in bed, if I’m not too exhausted from work. I like to change where I write from time to time so I don’t get into a rut. Lately I’ve been writing at the dining table, near our wood fire, with a hot cup of tea (it is winter here in Australia).

6. When did you discover your passion for writing?
My passion for writing has developed out of a love for reading. About two years ago, I’d run out of good books to read, so I thought “Hey, why don’t I try and write my own book. The kind of book I’d like to read.” This is where Second Chances started. It was just an experiment, but as I spent the next 12 weeks getting lost in the lives of my characters, I realised it was something I loved.

7. Out of Trust Me Twice and Second Chances, which is your favourite book and why?
Trust Me Twice is my favourite book. I spent over a year writing it and I got to know the characters so well. It was almost sad to say goodbye, although now I get to share them with my readers.

8. What is your favourite colour?
Do I have to pick just one? My favourite colours are teal, coral and indigo.

9. What is your favourite holiday destination?
New Zealand, although I recently visited Tasmania and it was a close second.

10. Can you speak any other languages besides English? What countries have you visited?
I learned Italian in school, but can only remember a few phrases now. The only country that I’ve been to outside of Australia is New Zealand. Hopefully once my kids are older we can venture further away.
Bookcover6 (1)
11. Who is your favourite Christian author and what is it you like about their books? Which book of theirs is your favourite?
The Christian author I most admire is Robin Jones Gunn – her books are very God-focused. I want to write books like her. Her Katie Weldon series would have to be my favourite.

12. Out of all the Christian books you have read, which one is your favourite and why?
I think Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers was awesome – the message of God’s forgiveness was so powerful. I was so moved by it that I cried myself to sleep. But really, it’s great!

13. Are there any prayer points you would like us to pray about regarding your career or just life in general? I’ve had a number of people contact me saying that they have grown closer to God because of my books – I feel so privileged that I can help people in this way and be part of their faith journey. Please pray that God would continue to use my writing to bless others.

Thanks so much, Alison, for answering these questions! I feel like I know you a lot better know and can’t wait to read your future books. God Bless!

You can buy her books here on Amazon:

6 thoughts on “In The Spotlight: Author Alison Stanley

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

