Wisdom To Know – Elizabeth Maddrey

Wisdom to know

Before I begin my review, I just want to apologize to Bookcrash and the publisher for this really late review, as I normally have book reviews completed within two months!!

Blurb ~
Is there sin that love can’t cover? Lydia Brown has taken just about every wrong turn she could find. When an abortion leaves her overwhelmed by guilt, she turns to drugs to escape her pain. After a single car accident lands her in the hospital facing DUI charges, Lydia is forced to reevaluate her choices. Kevin McGregor has been biding his time since high school when he heard God tell him that Lydia Brown was the woman he would marry. In the aftermath of Lydia’s accident, Kevin must come to grips with the truth about her secret life. While Kevin works to convince himself and God that loving Lydia is a mistake, Lydia struggles to accept the feelings she has for Kevin, though she fears her sin may be too much for anyone to forgive.

My Thoughts ~
I have to be honest- when I initially read the first few chapters of this book, I was not too engaged. I really don’t know what it was; I think it was the theme of ‘sex before marriage’, the consequent abortion and the drug use, especially in Christian Fiction; however I don’t wish to speculate. So I left the book for a couple months, coming back to it when I felt guilty for not having it completed. So I continued….

And am I glad I did, because I found the book to gradually get engaging, especially towards the end when the ‘real’ Lydia was found. The chemistry between her and Kevin was then so evident, my heart just went out to them both, whose situations and reactions were completely humanized. It is this aspect that I really have to applaud Elizabeth Maddrey for, her courage to tackle these touchy topics, personal to some and yet completely distant for others. All aspects just seemed really applicable in the society in which we now live, including the recovery and pain experienced; reminding me that it is a real problem. She really humanized the issues!!

Yet I have rated this book 3.5/5, and as much as I wish to focus on the positive, I should point out the negative to gain your understanding. Firstly, because of Kevin’s love he had for Lydia right from the beginning. Despite her rejection, he seemed to willingly be content in remaining her best friend, living with the knowledge of her sinful nature. To me it just seemed like he was blindly following her around, making himself available to be used whenever Lydia needed someone to talk to. He seemed to lack individuality and a life, a mind of his own. The reason why I like the ending so much is because it felt like he was going on a mission of self-discovery as I was able to see that he had a job and friends, that his life doesn’t have to revolve around Lydia, the way she has always had it. Secondly, well there is none, apart from the beginning which made it hard for me to be engaged with.

I hope this review wasn’t too degrading!! When I first read the blurb I had a completely different idea of what the book was going to be about, which may explain my reaction. I feel like I’ve been rambling, so I will stop now 🙂

*I received a free e-book of this book. All opinions are my own*

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

