A Billion Reasons Why – Kristin Billerbeck

Untitled1RATING: 3.5/4 Stars

Blurb ~
There are a billion reasons Kate should marry her current boyfriend. Will she trade them all to be madly in love?
Katie McKenna leads a perfect life. She has a fulfilling job, a cute apartment, a wedding to plan with her soon-to-be fiancé, Dexter. She can think of a billion reasons why she should marry Dexter. He’s everything she wants in a husband. And then in walks Luc DeForges, her bold, breathtaking ex-boyfriend. Only now he’s a millionaire. And he wants her to go home to New Orleans to sing for a friend’s wedding. As his date.
But Katie made up her mind about Luc eight years ago, when she fled her hometown after a very public breakup. Yet there’s still magnetism between them she can’t deny.
Katie thought her predictable relationship with Dexter would be the bedrock of a lasting, Christian marriage. But what if there’s more? What if God’s desire for her is a heart full of life? And what if that’s what Luc has offered all along?

My Thoughts ~
I have finally read this book!! After many, many months of reading the blurb and wondering what the story is like – Is it going to have a similar story line to Andrea Grigg’s A Simple Mistake? or How do I know I am going to like it? – I have finally bought and read it!! I must say, my expectations were high and perhaps too high because I feel that it hindered me from appreciating the story itself, not my expectations. However that said, I did enjoy the spunk, humour and chemistry Katie and Luc had.

I have never read any books from Kristen Billerbeck before and so I didn’t know what to expect. But I can confidently say that she wrote A Billion Reasons Why is such a fluent way I was drawn into it. The characters were well established and she communicated which ones are to like and not like, for example Dexter Hastings, who got on my nerves all too often because he was just such a perfectionist and self-centred. Luc on the other hand, is, despite his attitude, really likeable – maybe though because he was the perfect match for Katie. However all characters will definitely grow on you in some way.
I loved the Irish element in the novel because it just added something new to the book, something I had not read before. The food, the culture was just so inviting I could imagine myself living there.

Overall this was a fun chick-lit book to read that I would probably recommend to teenagers as myself. Thanks to Ashley Lynch-Harris for recommending me Billerbeck. I am definitely interested in what her other books are about.

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

