I’m No Angel- Kylie Bisutti

untitled
RATING: 5 Stars

When I first saw Kylie Bisutti’s biography I’m No Angel I got excited about having the opportunity to read how God changed her life and the inspiration and encouragement she was going to deliver. I also knew that I was going to find out about the modelling world, but what I read really opened my eyes. Beauty really is pain.

I can’t remember how many times I have envied the models I see in magazines. They just all look so pretty that I wanted to be like them. Not in the serious way, just imaginary. But after reading Kylie’s journey and how she made it all the way to Victoria’s Secret, I’m not so sure now. My take on modelling has completely changed. Once a model, your body no longer belongs to yourself, but to the agency you have signed up with. The lack of privacy and the promotion of sex and infidelity really astounded me. All the agencies really cared about was making money and fulfilling their desires. I mean, no wonder there are so many male photographers, who far outnumber the women. However just like Kylie, I thought that things would get better once you reach the big leagues. But she was wrong. Instead everything just got worse- “Angels were put on the runway with one intention: to seduce every man in eyeshot. It would be years before the Lord would awaken me to the twisted irony in that: angels, depicted in the Bible to be god’s messengers, being portrayed as sex symbols”.

I really applaud Kylie in the decision she made to walk out of modelling. The complete faith she had, although she as a relatively new Christian encouraged me to be bolder in my faith and to not be afraid in standing up for what is right. This is definitely an aspect I struggle with. God has everything planned out for us. Just like Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you,” declared the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”. This is exactly what Kylie gained by quitting modelling- a more fulfilled life pleasing to the Lord.

pic_full_Bisutti_Kylie

One of the main reasons she quit was to be a Proverbs 31 wife: A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life. … She gets up while it is still dark; she provides for her family … Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: many women do noble things but surpass them all. Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” (10-12, 15, 28-20 NIV) What encouragement! As wives, we are meant to not only be honouring to God but also faithful to our husbands. Although I am not yet married, I know that I want to aspire to be the wife outlined above.

It took a painful journey for Kylie to discover that she “was never meant to be a top model” for she “was meant to be a role model”. God used her modelling experiences for his good, just as God promises in the bible ‘you intended this for bad. But I intended it for good’. Kylie knows what each young girl aspiring modelling is going through. An encounter with her young cousin highlights the effect models have on children which is rather scary: “I was doing my hair and makeup in the mirror one day, and she as watching me. She was about eight at the time. I looked at her and said, ‘Hey. What’s going on?’ She just looked at me and said, ‘I think I want to stop eating so I can look like you.’ It just broke my heart”. To all those young models out there Kylie encourages you to look at your inner beauty because that it what is going to last far longer than your outward appearance. Personally this was really encouraging.

Kylie Bisutti’s story is one I encourage young models, Christian or not, to pick up and read because it will open your mind to what modelling is really like. But for those not pursuing this career, I still encourage you to read it and to aspire to be a Proverbs 31 wife. I know I was encouraged and challenged at the same time. Honouring God is so important and no matter how hard it seems like at the time, God will most definitely give you strength when you abide by him where he will bless you abundantly. Kylie’s story is proof of this. No matter how many times she sinned, God still blessed her. He can and will do the same for you if you invite him into your life. God only wants what is best for you!!!

*PLEASE NOTE: In exchange for an honest review, I received a free e-book copy of I’m No Angel from Tyndale House Publishers. All opinions are strictly my own. *

3 thoughts on “I’m No Angel- Kylie Bisutti

  1. Reblogged this on His Eye Is On This Sparrow and commented:
    Just like every little boy longs to be a worrier and rescue the maiden in distress, every little girl longs to be a beautiful princes. For women and young girls, this innate desire traps us into believing we HAVE to be sexy, we HAVE to be physically desirable in order to be wanted and loved. This excellent post by booklovers1, is a book review on a book written by a former Victoria’s Secret model.

  2. I’m looking forward to reading this book. I’ve been wanting to read it every since an article about Kylie appeared in the Daily Mail. I didn’t know Tyndale was offering this book for bloggers. But, oh well! 🙂

    • I highly recommend it!! It is really eye opening and encouraging with the reminde that we are to live for Christ no matter how hard it may be 🙂 I hope you enjoy it!

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

