Save the Date

Save the Date - Jenny B JonesRATING: 4 Stars
I must say, Jenny B Jones is definitely a talented author, and she has hit home once again with her novel Save the Date. I don’t know how Jones does it, but no matter the situation, she is able to make you either laugh or sympathise.

When the funding for Lucy’s non-profit job is pulled, she is determined to find out why. Enter Alex Sinclair, former professional football star and the heir to Sinclair Enterprises- the primary donor to Lucy’s non-profit organisation.
Both Lucy and Alex have something the other desperately wants.
Alex has it all … except for the votes he needs to win his bid for Congress. Despite their mutual dislike, Alex makes Lucy a proposition: pose as his fiancée in return for the money she desperately needs. Bound to a man who isn’t quite what he seems, Lucy finds her heart- and her future- in the line.

I love it how Jones writes with such spunk and quirkiness, making the story unable to be put down. She also writes in such a way that you really feel involved in the story. This is achieved by the fact that Lucy is just a normal person like us and Alex a famous celebrity- isn’t this what all girls dream of these days?? Their split personalities definitely liven up the story, for it greatly contributes to the obvious chemistry growing between the two, making everything a lot more realistic.

However it is also achieved by the message Jones subtly conveys- that we all too often in our lives lie to ourselves, making us feel vulnerable and unworthy for anything and anyone in life. I know that I suffer from this quite regularly and this added reminder that we are to nail them to the cross, was just what I needed to hear.

I love the fact that Jones involves all the characters in her story, for they really add to the plot line and atmosphere. I know I can relate well to Lucy’s friends for they represent some of my friends sci-fi fans- quite opposite to the famous Alex!!

Overall, Jones has yet again written a story that is truly enjoyable, making you laugh at all the different personalities and situations that arise.

2 thoughts on “Save the Date

  1. This sounds like a fun read. I haven’t read anything by Jones before, but I love books that can make me laugh. I will definitely check it out. Kristen Billerbeck writes some pretty funny chick-lit books as well.

    • Thanks for telling me about Billerbeck 🙂 She sounds like a really good author, especially her novel A Billion Reasons Why- just my type of story 🙂 Hope you enjoy Save the Date!!

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

