The Doctor’s Lady

RATING: 5 Stars
Romance novels where two individuals are forced to marry because the union will benefit both people are novels that I love to read. I believe that Jody Hedlund has done an amazing job with this aspect in her story The Doctor’s Lady.

Priscilla White believes she’ll never be a wife or a mother because she feels God is calling her to the mission field in India. Dr. Eli Ernest has just returned from the mission field in Oregon Country, hoping to soon return after raising awareness of missions to the natives before heading back out. However one thing stands in the way of both of them- the mission board had decided not to send out unmarried men and women. Eli and Priscilla agree to marry each other, in name only, and head out into the mission field, however little do they know what God has planned for them. The trials they’re confronted with greatly contributed to the story’s development and the romance between Eli and Priscilla, which was my highlight.

The charm and flirtatious natures of both characters really made for an entertaining read, especially with their little banters filled with sarcasm. It was obvious from the beginning that they were attracted to each other; despite their stubborn and prideful ways.
This book from Jody Hedlund was a really exciting read. Reading Hedlund’s cleverly crafted relationship between Eli and Priscilla flourish made me want to hope the book will never have to end. Priscilla’s bold, out spoken personality and Eli’s gentle, determined, considerate nature really made them perfect for each other. Several days after completing this book, the story still lingered in my mind.

Another aspect that I really enjoyed was the humor and how Pricilla’s family reminded me of the Pride and Prejudice family – the outspoken mother who looks out for her family but also herself, and the passive father who supports everything the children want, especially his favourite.
To anyone who really loves their romance novels, this is one that can’t be missed and I highly recommend.

8 thoughts on “The Doctor’s Lady

    • That’s a shame! I really enjoyed the book. However I still hope you are somewhat enjoying it 🙂 But I know what you mean! For me, I have to be in the right mood, otherwise the book lacks entertainment.

  1. Jody Hedlund has become one of my favorite authors…thanks for the review of this one-I will plan on reading it (along with all the other books on my “to-read-soon-list”)!

  2. Hmmm, I might be checking this book out as I also love romance novels like the one you just reviewed although I would never admit it publicly. Oops, I think I just did!

  3. Reblogged this on booklovers1 and commented:

    Hi guys!
    I don’t normally plan on reblogging my posts, however because the first review I had of The Doctor’s Lady didn’t make it justice, I thought I would read it again and write another one up. Enjoy 🙂

I'd love to know what you are thinking ......

